Follow us on Twitter!
Follow us on Facebook!
 

Go Back   Pixtus - Photography Forum, Photographers, Photo Tips > Business Discussion > Business Talk


Am I being too cautious?

This is a discussion on Am I being too cautious? within the Business Talk forums, part of the Business Discussion category; Today I received a well written email via blogspot from a young man looking for a photography mentor. The email ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Uber Poster
 
KdLaneJr's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,175
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Greater San Antonio area, San Diego, CA &, Texas
Real First Name: Ken
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 9

Likes Received LIKES Received: 7
Likes Given LIKES Given: 7
Exclamation Am I being too cautious? - 09-14-2009, 10:44 AM


Today I received a well written email via blogspot from a young man looking for a photography mentor. The email was nice.. and flattering.. and set off alarms for me. I went to google and searched the website address that he included in the email, with not a single hit. Next I googled the email address and again, not a single hit. I find this highly suspect, particularly since he also states that the website takes a few seconds for the quality to load. This sounds more to me like someone trying to flatter photographers into loading a trojan/malware/bot, etc.

Anyone else receive an email like this? Have any problems afterwards with computer, hacked finance accts, etc.?

Very leary when someone appears to be blowing smoke, particulary since I haven't updated my blog since June this year.

---------------------------
Kenny D. Photography | Kenny D. Photography (blog) | The San Antonio Photographer's Network (blog)

"They can do a lot, but they can't stop the clock!"
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.
  (#2) Old
Uber Poster
 
danchez's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,850
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wilsonville, Oregon
Real First Name: Dan
Camera: Nikon D700
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 2

Likes Received LIKES Received: 54
Likes Given LIKES Given: 39
09-14-2009, 12:36 PM


go with your first instinct.

---------------------------
Dan Sanchez
MM
Dan Sanchez Photography
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
You Can't Be Serious!!
 
toverman's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,770
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Real First Name: Todd
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 8

Likes Received LIKES Received: 4
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
09-14-2009, 01:28 PM


Quote:
Originally Posted by danchez View Post
go with your first instinct.
+1

And if you're still in the photo biz, update your blog!

---------------------------
www.toddovermanphoto.com
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Forum Regular
 
dracula02's Avatar
 
Posts: 702
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: College Station, Texas
Real First Name: Tommy
Camera: 1913 Kodak Automatic
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 9

Likes Received LIKES Received: 12
Likes Given LIKES Given: 27
09-14-2009, 02:49 PM


http://www.whois.net/ Check this website... It should be able to tell you who the domain is registered under.

---------------------------
www.erikathomasphotography.com

Facebook Fanpage
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
Uber Poster
 
KdLaneJr's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,175
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Greater San Antonio area, San Diego, CA &, Texas
Real First Name: Ken
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 9

Likes Received LIKES Received: 7
Likes Given LIKES Given: 7
09-14-2009, 02:54 PM


I was going to do that using a tool named Netlab.

---------------------------
Kenny D. Photography | Kenny D. Photography (blog) | The San Antonio Photographer's Network (blog)

"They can do a lot, but they can't stop the clock!"
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Uber Poster
 
ngoduyviet's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,862
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Stafford, Texas
Real First Name: Viet
Camera: Any
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 35

Likes Received LIKES Received: 32
Likes Given LIKES Given: 4
Send a message via Skype™ to ngoduyviet
09-14-2009, 05:13 PM


Firefox + a good anti-virus software or just a machine dedicated to surfing = peace of mind :) that said, go with your instinct.

---------------------------
Blog
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cautious

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Visit Our Sponsors
 

Google Sponsors

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.

Copyright ©2004 - 2011, Abel Longoria - www.Pixtus.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.