Follow us on Twitter!
Follow us on Facebook!
 

Go Back   Pixtus - Photography Forum, Photographers, Photo Tips > Business Discussion > Business Talk


Possible SCAM be aware!

This is a discussion on Possible SCAM be aware! within the Business Talk forums, part of the Business Discussion category; there is a site out there called sportstop25.com I applied a few weeks ago just to see what they have ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Member
 
kostasphotopro's Avatar
 
Posts: 84
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Francisco,
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
Send a message via AIM to kostasphotopro Send a message via Yahoo to kostasphotopro
Angry Possible SCAM be aware! - 01-02-2008, 09:05 PM


there is a site out there called sportstop25.com I applied a few weeks ago just to see what they have to offer. 80/20 split on proffits and you get into major college games... not bad for a starting person who it trying to get a portfolio together and get bigger gigs but at the same time they are getting paid, no? any way I inquired about getting press credentials for games in my area since there are two 1 division schools here. They told me that I need to purchase a Press Pass from them for 75 bucks.... AND I need to call the school that I would be going to shoot at to get a press pass at the gate... yeah crazy huh? I never heard from all the years I have been freelancing for major wires and so on that I need to pay for my press pass and that I need to call the schools... if you are working for someone they need to provide you the press pass they need to get you the credentials to enter the gate... not the other way around.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.
  (#2) Old
Administrator
Site Admin
 
Abel's Avatar
 
Posts: 23,123
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Real First Name: Abel
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 66

Likes Received LIKES Received: 412
Likes Given LIKES Given: 45
01-03-2008, 12:37 PM


ive picked up passes at the gate plenty of times but never have had to "pay" an organization in order to get one.

that does seems VERY shady.. thanks for the heads up.

---------------------------
Abel Longoria
Check out the NEW Pixtus Photography Cheat Sheet!
Support Pixtus by Purchasing Your Gear From: B&H Photo | Amazon | Adorama
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Junior Member
 
Namu @ XenFoto.com's Avatar
 
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Santa Maria, California,
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
Send a message via AIM to Namu @ XenFoto.com
01-03-2008, 02:54 PM


So let's get this straight...they want you to pay them for THEIR press pass and then call the school to get one from them too? And then, on top of that, they want you to pay them 20% of your profit from the shots you end up with?

How very generous of them! What, exactly, is the benefit of joining them then? Sounds to me like all you're doing is giving them 20% of your profit for zero return.

Not illegal, what they're doing, just shady. Although, the fact that they don't disclose that you have to buy a press pass from them until you've already signed up could be construed as fraud. But either way, their website is poorly designed, half of it doesn't work and I wasn't very impressed with a lot of the content - I'd steer clear of it for sure.

---------------------------
--

If a picture is worth a thousand words, can those words each equal $100 please?
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Member
 
kostasphotopro's Avatar
 
Posts: 84
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Francisco,
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
Send a message via AIM to kostasphotopro Send a message via Yahoo to kostasphotopro
01-04-2008, 08:45 PM


Yes I agree... I saw them advertizing a lot and there are sites like Maxpreps who take 50% of the earnings but they advertise for you give you business cards (where you gotta buy those as well with sportstop25) shirts hats (gotta buy those as well at sportstop25) and you name it. Any way just so people know to steer away from these people before they get scamed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aware, scam

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Visit Our Sponsors
 

Google Sponsors

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.

Copyright ©2004 - 2011, Abel Longoria - www.Pixtus.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.