Follow us on Twitter!
Follow us on Facebook!
 

Go Back   Pixtus - Photography Forum, Photographers, Photo Tips > Business Discussion > Business Talk


Spam mktg - a whole new level!! BEWARE

This is a discussion on Spam mktg - a whole new level!! BEWARE within the Business Talk forums, part of the Business Discussion category; Okay, I'm not 100% sure if this is a hoax or not, but my gut tells me so and I ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Member
 
BWDPhoto's Avatar
 
Posts: 84
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: lawton,ok,
Real First Name: Wendy
Camera: Canon 40D
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
Spam mktg - a whole new level!! BEWARE - 12-14-2007, 04:27 PM


Okay, I'm not 100% sure if this is a hoax or not, but my gut tells me so and I wanted to make others aware..
Today I received a call/message from "Peter" who is "with a company based out of London, England in the UK". He said his company was about to launch a new CD rom publication for a bridal guide and they would like to do a 'feature' on one photographer in 'the states'. He left a international phone number, thus why i'm not calling back for 1 and then an email address that I couldn't make out completely.

I've NEVER had any one call before w/ this type of solicitation - typically just emailing. but...while I'd LOVE to think that my work is just that supurb - I have to consider the other 'greats' who are heads and shoulders above me!! So...just wanted to give everyone a heads up.

Oh, the number showed up as an 'unknown' on my caller id.

---------------------------
Don't waste time, it's the stuff life is made of!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.
  (#2) Old
Permanently Banned
 
CaptainTom's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,341
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fort Worth, Tx,
Real First Name: Tom
Camera: canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 24

Likes Received LIKES Received: 5
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
12-14-2007, 04:50 PM


I'd be suspicious as well...
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Junior Member
 
zoti's Avatar
 
Posts: 27
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Plano, TX,
Real First Name: Tomer
Camera: 40
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
Send a message via MSN to zoti
12-24-2007, 02:53 AM


How much is it going to cost you to "advertise" with them? Sounds like a scam.

---------------------------
http://www.TomerLitvin.com/photography
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
beware, level, mktg, spam

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Visit Our Sponsors
 

Google Sponsors

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.

Copyright ©2004 - 2011, Abel Longoria - www.Pixtus.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.