Follow us on Twitter!
Follow us on Facebook!
 

Go Back   Pixtus - Photography Forum, Photographers, Photo Tips > Photography Information > Equipment Talk


price to good to be true?

This is a discussion on price to good to be true? within the Equipment Talk forums, part of the Photography Information category; I was looking online at some cameras, and had found that there was a few web sites selling both Cannons ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Junior Member
 
egorshungry's Avatar
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: lewisville, Texas
Real First Name: brad
Camera: D5000
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
price to good to be true? - 02-23-2011, 04:38 PM


I was looking online at some cameras, and had found that there was a few web sites selling both Cannons and Nikons, but the price just seems way to low. Amazon usallly has the best prices on alot of electronics, but they were a few hundred dollars lower than them. They were advertising a D7000 for $970 and a D300s for $875. Is this to good to be true? or could they be selling over seas models?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.
  (#2) Old
Member
 
rschramm's Avatar
 
Posts: 213
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Salado, Texas, Texas
Real First Name: Rusty
Camera: Nikon D200, Canon 5dMII, 7D
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 3

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
02-23-2011, 04:50 PM


Store Ratings & Reviews - ResellerRatings.com - Find Trusted Stores

always check them out there....

---------------------------
"...next thing you know, you shot yourself in the foot!"
"Are there ever any Bears Around these parts?"
"We all must face Reality Dowd, Sooner or Later"
"good God Mort, That's one big Pickle!"
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Administrator
Site Admin
 
Abel's Avatar
 
Posts: 23,124
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Real First Name: Abel
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 66

Likes Received LIKES Received: 413
Likes Given LIKES Given: 45
02-23-2011, 05:20 PM


i agree with rusty... be sure to check them out brad.

---------------------------
Abel Longoria
Check out the NEW Pixtus Photography Cheat Sheet!
Support Pixtus by Purchasing Your Gear From: B&H Photo | Amazon | Adorama
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Uber Poster
 
danchez's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,852
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wilsonville, Oregon
Real First Name: Dan
Camera: Nikon D700
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 2

Likes Received LIKES Received: 55
Likes Given LIKES Given: 39
02-23-2011, 05:23 PM


words to live by:
if it sounds too good to be true, it is.

---------------------------
Dan Sanchez
MM
Dan Sanchez Photography
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
Administrator
Site Admin
 
Abel's Avatar
 
Posts: 23,124
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Real First Name: Abel
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 66

Likes Received LIKES Received: 413
Likes Given LIKES Given: 45
02-23-2011, 05:40 PM


Quote:
Originally Posted by egorshungry View Post
They were advertising a D7000 for $970 and a D300s for $875.
Amazon shows

D7000 for $1,199 (Body Only)

The place you mentioned it $230 less. Not good. Prolly a typical bait and switch operation where theyll charge your card and then tell you they dont have it but will sell you something else.

---------------------------
Abel Longoria
Check out the NEW Pixtus Photography Cheat Sheet!
Support Pixtus by Purchasing Your Gear From: B&H Photo | Amazon | Adorama
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Junior Member
 
egorshungry's Avatar
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: lewisville, Texas
Real First Name: brad
Camera: D5000
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
02-23-2011, 06:11 PM


I checked it out and found a blog that a few people have bought from the site, and the results were far from plesant. They would get a call back from a number in Russia explaining that they should buy this product instead. They would eventually get there stuff but it was the wrong item, adn getting ahold of them was almost impossible.
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
Permium Member
 
jfoureyes's Avatar
 
Posts: 13,437
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Stafford, Texas
Real First Name: Jim
Camera: Old Nikon cameras
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 124
Likes Given LIKES Given: 51
02-23-2011, 06:19 PM


Quote:
Originally Posted by egorshungry View Post
I checked it out and found a blog that a few people have bought from the site, and the results were far from plesant. They would get a call back from a number in Russia explaining that they should buy this product instead. They would eventually get there stuff but it was the wrong item, adn getting ahold of them was almost impossible.
That pretty much says it all!!! I use B&H 99.999% of the time...I know they'll take care me and have for years.

---------------------------
Jim
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
Forum Regular
 
rfortson's Avatar
 
Posts: 680
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Houston (Clear Lake), Texas
Real First Name: Russ
Camera: Pentax, Olympus
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 4
Likes Given LIKES Given: 10
02-25-2011, 10:20 AM


I don't know what it is about cameras that attracts all the scammers, but it's true. I've bought all sorts of things online (and before that, via catalog) with very few problems. However, when I started buying photo gear several years back, I was shocked at how many scam sites there are out there. I've narrowed my list down to the few places I trust and stick with them.

For all other items (mainly tech gadgets), I'll buy from just about anywhere and am rarely disappointed.

---------------------------
Russ
www.flickr.com/photos/rfortson
Pentax K5, Olympus E-P1 "Pen" and stuff
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
Senior Member
 
ukneeq's Avatar
 
Posts: 377
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas
Real First Name: Fedil
Camera: Canon 5D MarkII
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
02-25-2011, 11:06 AM


Some of the cheap online places I have seen also strip the contents of the box and then try to upcharge you. I called to order from one place that was a few hundred cheaper than like amazon or the other trusted online sites. When I called they said the price didn't include the battery, charger, strap, etc... Needless to say once you "add" the items that normally come in the box it was more expensive.

---------------------------
Fedil Photography - www.fedilphotography.com
Digital Photography Report - http://www.digitalphotographyreport.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
good, price, true

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Visit Our Sponsors
 

Google Sponsors

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.

Copyright ©2004 - 2011, Abel Longoria - www.Pixtus.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.