Follow us on Twitter!
Follow us on Facebook!
 

Go Back   Pixtus - Photography Forum, Photographers, Photo Tips > General Information > Open Talk


Email from Ebay (phishing?)

This is a discussion on Email from Ebay (phishing?) within the Open Talk forums, part of the General Information category; Thought I'd share this with the forum. I received an email from ebay today telling me they've released a new ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Uber Poster
 
KdLaneJr's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,167
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Greater San Antonio area, San Diego, CA &, Texas
Real First Name: Ken
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 8

Likes Received LIKES Received: 6
Likes Given LIKES Given: 6
Exclamation Email from Ebay (phishing?) - 07-18-2009, 01:24 PM


Thought I'd share this with the forum.

I received an email from ebay today telling me they've released a new ebay confirmation form. Naturally it included a link to click on.

While the email looks authentic, I've never set up an ebay account using the email address that they emailed me at. So no, I won't be clicking on the link.

Perhaps this is legit, perhaps it's not. I don't currently shop or sell ebay anyway, so ignoring it won't bother me at .

Anyone know for sure if this is a phishing attempt?

---------------------------
Kenny D. Photography | Kenny D. Photography (blog) | The San Antonio Photographer's Network (blog)

"They can do a lot, but they can't stop the clock!"
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.
  (#2) Old
Member
 
shamrock's Avatar
 
Posts: 242
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Cedar Park, Texas
Real First Name: Val
Camera: Nikon D300
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
07-18-2009, 01:31 PM


Did it look like either of these? If so, it's a phish.



"eBay Customer Support Team requests you to complete eBay user confirmation form."

Dear eBay user,

eBay Customer Support Team requests you to complete eBay user confirmation form.

This procedure is obligatory for all users of eBay.

Please click hyperlink below to access user confirmation form.

http://userconfirmationform-id22729. ebay.com/userdirectory/eBayISAPI.dll

Thank you for choosing eBay.

This mail generated by an automated service.




Dear eBay user,
We would like to inform you that we have released a new version of eBay Confirmation form. This form is required to be completed by all eBay users.Please follow these steps:
1.Open the form at http ://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?cfom=6854240919262461011499453148651 112029191614926724924385209414265
2.Follow given instructions.
Thank you,
eBay
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Member
 
djroga's Avatar
 
Posts: 197
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Austin TX, Texas
Real First Name: Dennis
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 12

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
07-18-2009, 01:31 PM


NEVER click on a link such as that. Not from sBay.
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Uber Poster
 
KdLaneJr's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,167
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Greater San Antonio area, San Diego, CA &, Texas
Real First Name: Ken
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 8

Likes Received LIKES Received: 6
Likes Given LIKES Given: 6
07-19-2009, 01:39 AM


Actually it looked better than that. And no, I didn't click on it Dennis. Hopefully I'll never make that mistake. Here is text of the email sans link. Had lots of nice ebay graphics in the header.

Dear eBay user,



We would like to inform you that we have released a new version of eBay Confirmation form. This form is required to be completed by all eBay users.

Please follow these steps:
1.Open the form at (left link out).
2.Follow given instructions.
Thank you,
eBay



and followed with;


This eBay notice was sent to {my email address was here} from eBay. Your account is registered on www.ebay.com. As outlined in our User Agreement, eBay will send you required notifications about the site and your transactions. If you would like to receive this email in text format, change your notification preferences.

See our Privacy Policy and User Agreement if you have questions about eBay's communication policies.
Privacy Policy: http://pages.ebay.com/help/policies/privacy-policy.html
User Agreement: http://pages.ebay.com/help/policies/user-agreement.html

Copyright © 2006-2009 eBay, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.
eBay and the eBay logo are registered trademarks or trademarks of eBay, Inc.
eBay is located at 2145 Hamilton Avenue, San Jose, CA 95125.



Probably one of the better phishing emails I've seen.

---------------------------
Kenny D. Photography | Kenny D. Photography (blog) | The San Antonio Photographer's Network (blog)

"They can do a lot, but they can't stop the clock!"
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
Forum Regular
 
snydersnapshots's Avatar
 
Posts: 697
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Spring, Texas
Real First Name: Ken
Camera: Nikon D300
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 14
Likes Given LIKES Given: 13
07-19-2009, 01:56 AM


Sounds Phishy to me. One thing I do when I get one of these is look at the full header information. Usually the sender is NOT a so-and-so@(pick your financial institution).com.
If I had a hundred bucks in every financial institution I get e-mails "from" I'd be a rich man. Then there are the nice people in Nigeria that want me to take the money their poor deceased customers left in the bank...

---------------------------
Ken Snyder

"I have yet so very much to learn." Ernest K. Gann
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Forum Regular
 
Torrey's Avatar
 
Posts: 775
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Plano, Texas
Real First Name: Torrey
Camera: Canon XS
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 1
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
07-19-2009, 12:10 PM


Obviously phishing...otherwise, ALL of us here who also have ebay accounts (pretty much everybody) would have gotten the same thing since it's "required" for all users. I sure haven't gotten anything like that.
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
Account Permanently Banned
 
ChristopherCoy's Avatar
 
Posts: 4,273
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sanger,
Real First Name: Chris
Camera: Nikon D90
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 8

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
07-19-2009, 12:26 PM


To find out if its real or not, why not log into ebay and check your messages folder? If its a real attempt to update your info, you should have a copy of it, and if not, just email ebay customer service from your ebay account....

---------------------------
The Modern Mutt :: Pet Photography
"There are lots of dead squirrels in the road, who couldn't make a decision"
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
Senior Member
 
dwilliams35's Avatar
 
Posts: 266
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pattison, Texas
Real First Name: Donnie
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 2
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
07-19-2009, 01:06 PM


Real E-bay messages will have your ebay username and your name if I remember:

I generally just right-click on the link and then do "properties" just to see what wahoo the link is actually going to...
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
Forum Master
 
ka5txl's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,802
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Dallas, Texas
Real First Name: Larry
Camera: I shoot Pentax because I can nolonger get film or flash bulbs for my Kodak Brownie
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 12
Likes Given LIKES Given: 49
07-19-2009, 01:38 PM


Quote:
Originally Posted by snydersnapshots View Post
Sounds Phishy to me. One thing I do when I get one of these is look at the full header information. Usually the sender is NOT a so-and-so@(pick your financial institution).com.
If I had a hundred bucks in every financial institution I get e-mails "from" I'd be a rich man. Then there are the nice people in Nigeria that want me to take the money their poor deceased customers left in the bank...
What you mean I'm not the only one who gets those offers to recieve the largess from some deceased, deposed despot?

If you have a question about an ebay email just send it to spoof@ebay.com
Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
Forum Regular
 
Gambit's Avatar
 
Posts: 552
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: DFW, Texas
Real First Name: Dan
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 1

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
07-19-2009, 02:50 PM


Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristopherCoy View Post
To find out if its real or not, why not log into ebay and check your messages folder? If its a real attempt to update your info, you should have a copy of it, and if not, just email ebay customer service from your ebay account....
Bingo.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ebay, email, phishing

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Visit Our Sponsors
 

Google Sponsors

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.

Copyright ©2004 - 2011, Abel Longoria - www.Pixtus.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.