Anyone Hear of the SHUTTERBOOM '09 BIKINI Model Shoot-Out?This is a discussion on Anyone Hear of the SHUTTERBOOM '09 BIKINI Model Shoot-Out? within the Open Talk forums, part of the General Information category; I just got a PM on MM for the SHUTTERBOOM '09 BIKINI Model Shoot-Out. The price seems too good to ...
(#1)
| | Account Banned
Posts: 1,984 Join Date: Aug 2008 Location: Plano, Real First Name: Richard Camera: Canon 20D iTrader Rating: 0 LIKES Received: 0 LIKES Given: 0 | Anyone Hear of the SHUTTERBOOM '09 BIKINI Model Shoot-Out? -
07-20-2009, 07:42 PM
I just got a PM on MM for the SHUTTERBOOM '09 BIKINI Model Shoot-Out. The price seems too good to be true. For $50, I can shoot the models (78, so far) all day, and they have motorcycles, cars and a plane for props. They did this last year, with 16 photogs and 43 models.
I figure that if this is legitimate, someone here will know about it. | | | | | Sponsored Links | Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.
|
(#2)
| | Uber Poster
Posts: 2,970 Join Date: Dec 2007 Location: Katy, Texas Real First Name: Donna Camera: Nikon D80, D700 Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes iTrader Rating: 2 LIKES Received: 9 LIKES Given: 10 |
07-20-2009, 09:15 PM
*lol*
Everyone is rapidly checking THEIR MM accounts to see if THEY were PM'd... roflmao.
--------------------------- "Dying people lie too. Wish they'd worked less, been nicer, opened orphanages for kittens. If you really want to do something, you do it. You don't save it for a sound bite." BLOG | WEBSITE | | | |
(#3)
| | Premium Member
Posts: 2,377 Join Date: Nov 2008 Location: Houston, TX, Texas Real First Name: Tony Camera: Sigma SD Camera's Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes iTrader Rating: 39 LIKES Received: 82 LIKES Given: 117 |
07-20-2009, 10:07 PM
Man....I don't have an MM account...anyone need an assistant... 
--------------------------- Sigma SD1-M Converted to Nikon F & SD14 One Converted to Nikon F and One Converted to Leica R......
| | | |
(#4)
| | Uber Poster
Posts: 2,846 Join Date: Jun 2007 Location: Houston, Texas Real First Name: Richard Camera: Nikon D300 Can Others Edit My Photos: No iTrader Rating: 2 LIKES Received: 0 LIKES Given: 2 |
07-20-2009, 10:08 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cajungaltx *lol*
Everyone is rapidly checking THEIR MM accounts to see if THEY were PM'd... roflmao. | no need to check, I get email notification...I must not be good enough :( | | | |
(#5)
| | Account Banned
Posts: 1,984 Join Date: Aug 2008 Location: Plano, Real First Name: Richard Camera: Canon 20D iTrader Rating: 0 LIKES Received: 0 LIKES Given: 0 |
07-20-2009, 10:28 PM
This is supposed to be held in Grapevine, with models from all over the country.
Please forgive me, but I am really skeptical. | | | |
(#6)
| | Uber Poster
Posts: 2,970 Join Date: Dec 2007 Location: Katy, Texas Real First Name: Donna Camera: Nikon D80, D700 Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes iTrader Rating: 2 LIKES Received: 9 LIKES Given: 10 |
07-20-2009, 11:56 PM
Okay - I did a google search and found this:
The guys been part of MM since 2005... so that's a good thing I guess: http://www.modelmayhem.com/14436
And this on facebook (different person apparently) - http://www.myspace.com/sheenalee
It looks like the guy is opening a studio - or did open a studio on July 15th - "*SHUTTERBOOM STUDIO* will be opening in JULY, and will be located in Irving Texas on MacArthur Rd, just 5 miles from Dallas. This is my new 3000 sq. ft. photography studio. If you are a fellow photographer needing space to do your shoots... please contact me for rates. "
So you pay the $50 - and you give him/the models 'some' of the images that you get. The models get free images in exchange for coming out (TFCD basically)... and this guy gets exposure...
If he gets the 'More Cars. More motorcycles. Food. Music. And a Airplane for models to pose on"... probably by offering the owners the images as well maybe? It seems like a great networking idea... Cajungaltx added 0 Minutes and 25 Seconds later...Double Post Merged Below Quote:
Originally Posted by photonewb no need to check, I get email notification...I must not be good enough :( | Your in Houston.... maybe it's only to the local photogs?
--------------------------- "Dying people lie too. Wish they'd worked less, been nicer, opened orphanages for kittens. If you really want to do something, you do it. You don't save it for a sound bite." BLOG | WEBSITE
Last edited by Cajungaltx; 07-20-2009 at 11:56 PM..
Reason: Automerged Doublepost
| | | |
(#7)
| | Account Banned
Posts: 1,984 Join Date: Aug 2008 Location: Plano, Real First Name: Richard Camera: Canon 20D iTrader Rating: 0 LIKES Received: 0 LIKES Given: 0 |
07-21-2009, 12:44 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cajungaltx Okay - I did a google search and found this: | Thanks for looking up all that! That was nice of you. | | | |
(#8)
| | Uber Poster
Posts: 2,846 Join Date: Jun 2007 Location: Houston, Texas Real First Name: Richard Camera: Nikon D300 Can Others Edit My Photos: No iTrader Rating: 2 LIKES Received: 0 LIKES Given: 2 |
07-21-2009, 06:51 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cajungaltx
Your in Houston.... maybe it's only to the local photogs? | whew!
my fragile ego can be saved by this maybe...I'm just gonna run with it and say that's it...yeah...that's the ticket!!!!   | | | |
(#9)
| | Account Banned
Posts: 1,984 Join Date: Aug 2008 Location: Plano, Real First Name: Richard Camera: Canon 20D iTrader Rating: 0 LIKES Received: 0 LIKES Given: 0 |
07-23-2009, 03:12 AM
He has a Web page for this event. It is little more than a static page with some images and a link to make a payment. I found the photo of the girl on his Web page on another Web page, but I don't know that means anything. http://www.shutterboom.net/ http://1spg.com/20/displayimage.php?album=30&pos=42 | | | |
(#10)
| | Uber Poster
Posts: 2,846 Join Date: Jun 2007 Location: Houston, Texas Real First Name: Richard Camera: Nikon D300 Can Others Edit My Photos: No iTrader Rating: 2 LIKES Received: 0 LIKES Given: 2 |
07-23-2009, 06:41 AM
his splash page doesn't seem to jive with the event...why show a banner with a huge white sand beach, crystal blue water, sailboats etc...and then a model almost knee deep in water for a shoot that sounds like it's a "warehouse" type studio? The photo he is using is tagged with SIVAD, but the email is surrealmedia???? And it's a hotmail account? Although looking at his MM acct he seems to change his tag quite a bit /shrug
I'd say your skepticism is warranted, I'd personally be very wary about sending any money. Perhaps you can get some more information directly from him on MM? You said that's where he contacted you right?
Last edited by photonewb; 07-23-2009 at 06:43 AM..
| | | |
(#11)
| | Forum Regular
Posts: 846 Join Date: Oct 2005 Location: West Fort Worth, Texas Real First Name: Bruce Camera: Nikon Can Others Edit My Photos: No iTrader Rating: 1 LIKES Received: 5 LIKES Given: 11 |
07-23-2009, 08:47 AM
Or is anyone going down MacArthur and can just check and see if there IS such a business?
--------------------------- Bruce M. Morris
Cowtown Photography
Fort Worth, TX | | | |
(#12)
| | Forum Regular
Posts: 616 Join Date: Jun 2007 Location: Little Elm, Texas Real First Name: Jonny Carroll Camera: Canons Can Others Edit My Photos: No iTrader Rating: 1 LIKES Received: 0 LIKES Given: 0 |
07-23-2009, 09:23 AM
where is the shoot??
a lake? or his studio?
or where? | | | |
(#13)
| | Forum Master
Posts: 1,838 Join Date: Feb 2009 Location: Dallas, Texas Real First Name: Jason Camera: Canon Can Others Edit My Photos: No iTrader Rating: 3 LIKES Received: 2 LIKES Given: 0 |
07-23-2009, 10:18 AM
He's probably getting a bunch of reject models that look like horses to pay the same $50 to come down here. He promises them images from the top fashion photogs in the country. You'll show up and find a bunch of BBW models in bikinis standing next to Geo Metros with catering provided by the Minyard's chip/snack aisle. I'd join up today, if I were you!!! | | | |
(#14)
| | Account Banned
Posts: 1,984 Join Date: Aug 2008 Location: Plano, Real First Name: Richard Camera: Canon 20D iTrader Rating: 0 LIKES Received: 0 LIKES Given: 0 |
07-23-2009, 12:19 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by photonewb I'd say your skepticism is warranted, I'd personally be very wary about sending any money. Perhaps you can get some more information directly from him on MM? You said that's where he contacted you right? | Yes, MM. Imagebuffet added 0 Minutes and 24 Seconds later...Double Post Merged Below Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnydonut where is the shoot??
a lake? or his studio?
or where? | It is supposed to be on Lake Grapevine.
Last edited by Imagebuffet; 07-23-2009 at 12:19 PM..
Reason: Automerged Doublepost
| | | |
(#15)
| | Forum Master
Posts: 1,003 Join Date: Jan 2009 Location: Pearland, Texas Real First Name: Marius Camera: Canon Can Others Edit My Photos: No iTrader Rating: 19 LIKES Received: 30 LIKES Given: 9 |
08-01-2009, 11:54 PM
Apparently it is open to any photog, the inivite is for models only.
When I first read it, I was so worked up thinking it would be like the SOS from Marc and Robin but then a google here and there plus you guys entries made me really think twice.
Guess people are becoming more 'creative' in scamming folks like that Houston Basic Lighting pseudo-workshop thing... | | | | | Thread Tools | | | | Display Modes | Linear Mode |
Posting Rules
| You may not post new threads You may not post replies You may not post attachments You may not edit your posts HTML code is Off | | | | Google Sponsors | Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.
| |
Copyright ©2004 - 2011, Abel Longoria - www.Pixtus.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7 Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc. |