Follow us on Twitter!
Follow us on Facebook!
 

Go Back   Pixtus - Photography Forum, Photographers, Photo Tips > General Information > Open Talk


Total Mindblown!

This is a discussion on Total Mindblown! within the Open Talk forums, part of the General Information category; Saw a Canon 5D going for a cool $900 on craigs this morning: http://houston.craigslist.org/pho/1332311249.html Looks like it already went, no ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Uber Poster
 
zebulus's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,087
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Coast City,
Real First Name: Barry Allen
Camera: Olympus/Nikon
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 7

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
Total Mindblown! - 08-20-2009, 07:40 AM


Saw a Canon 5D going for a cool $900 on craigs this morning:

http://houston.craigslist.org/pho/1332311249.html

Looks like it already went, no surprise there. Thats the deal of the century. Wow, thats literally the first full frame digital camera (besides the old Kodak 14n) ive seen go for under a grand. Pair that with a canon 50mm and your in business.

Well, someone got a good deal anyway.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.
  (#2) Old
Member
 
Hein0100's Avatar
 
Posts: 57
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Azle, Texas
Real First Name: Matt
Camera: Canon 50D
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
08-20-2009, 10:38 AM


I saw someone that was 'selling' a 1 series m3 body for $700.
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Premium Member
 
tc95's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,377
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Houston, TX, Texas
Real First Name: Tony
Camera: Sigma SD Camera's
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 39

Likes Received LIKES Received: 82
Likes Given LIKES Given: 117
08-20-2009, 04:09 PM


I would be carefull....I responded to a D90 with 18-105 VR post yesturday....for $600.00...and this is the email I recieved back....

Quote:
Hello,
The camera is new and the final price is $600.
Now I'm in Romania with job
I will came back next year. The product is here with me, in Romania. I don't have who i ship it. My family is here with me.
So this is what i suggest, i think this is the best and safest way for the two of us.
I will ship it to you. I will support all the shipping taxes. Shipping will take usually: 3 days.
Obviously we need a safe way to complete this deal that will allow us to make sure we receive what we are after.
I have found a way for us to complete the deal safely and fast!
The solution is provided by a international shipping company DHL.
It is explained step by step below:
- First I will need your shipping information (i.e. name and address).
1. With this info, I will go to a DHL Location send the item to your name and address provided.
2. DHL will inspect the package and all the legal papers.
- As soon as the item is in DHL custody, you will receive a notification from them.
1. After that, you will make the payment for the item.
2. Once the payment was sent, they will deliver the product to your door step, and you will verify that everything is as supposed.
- If by any reason, you will not be satisfied with the package, you will return the product to DHL with no expense!

DHL Express reduces risks associated with Internet transactions by acting as a licensed, trusted, neutral third party for on-line transactions.
The seller leaves the merchandise into DHL Express custody.
The merchandise will remain in DHL Express custody until the buyer provides the payment informations to the seller.
Once the funds are verified by the seller, the merchandise will be send to the buyer.
If the buyer will not be satisfied with the merchandise, DHL Express will send the merchandise back to the seller.
Also the payment will be sent back to the buyer.
The seller will receive the payment only if the buyer will contact us and tell us that will keep the product.
I will be waiting for your email.
Best Regards !
First off DHL has not run in the US since Nov of 2008 they stopped running on the 18th and second they don't deliver to the US since Dec 31st 2008....the last of the shops shut down the middle of Dec 2008....

It looks like the old Nigerian Scam just recreated...!!!!

---------------------------
Sigma SD1-M Converted to Nikon F & SD14 One Converted to Nikon F and One Converted to Leica R......
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Account Banned
 
Imagebuffet's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,984
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Plano,
Real First Name: Richard
Camera: Canon 20D
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
08-20-2009, 06:17 PM


Quote:
Originally Posted by tc95 View Post
I would be carefull....I responded to a D90 with 18-105 VR post yesturday....for $600.00...and this is the email I recieved back....



First off DHL has not run in the US since Nov of 2008 they stopped running on the 18th and second they don't deliver to the US since Dec 31st 2008....the last of the shops shut down the middle of Dec 2008....

It looks like the old Nigerian Scam just recreated...!!!!
I'm wondering why they would use a small-name courier, instead of the better-known UPS?
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
Forum Regular
 
dmora's Avatar
 
Posts: 763
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Austin, TX, Texas
Real First Name: Daniel
Camera: Nikon D700, F5, F2, FM2
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 2

Likes Received LIKES Received: 3
Likes Given LIKES Given: 3
08-20-2009, 07:02 PM


Ive seen a few shady deals on CL...



actually i've seen a lot of shady deals on CL. thats why i use a CL only email account because its guaranteed spam.

---------------------------
-Daniel
www.dmora.com
My Flickr Page
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Premium Member
 
tc95's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,377
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Houston, TX, Texas
Real First Name: Tony
Camera: Sigma SD Camera's
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 39

Likes Received LIKES Received: 82
Likes Given LIKES Given: 117
08-20-2009, 07:41 PM



---------------------------
Sigma SD1-M Converted to Nikon F & SD14 One Converted to Nikon F and One Converted to Leica R......
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
You Can't Be Serious!!
 
toverman's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,770
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Real First Name: Todd
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 8

Likes Received LIKES Received: 4
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
08-20-2009, 08:48 PM


Even if it was legit, I wonder how much use/abuse the camera got. I haven't personally seen one for less than $1,250.

---------------------------
www.toddovermanphoto.com
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
Premium Member
 
dbphotos's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,626
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Flower Mound (DFW), Texas
Real First Name: David
Camera: Nikon
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 4

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
08-20-2009, 08:51 PM


It's definitely not legit. They will ship either an empty box or a box of junk.

---------------------------
| David Bailey Photography | Digital Racing Images | Sports Shooter | flickr | Grafix USA
I have a camera and some other stuff...
"Live your life in such a way that when your feet hit the floor satan shudders and says oh hell he's awake!"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
mindblown, total

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Visit Our Sponsors
 

Google Sponsors

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.

Copyright ©2004 - 2011, Abel Longoria - www.Pixtus.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.