Follow us on Twitter!
Follow us on Facebook!
 

Go Back   Pixtus - Photography Forum, Photographers, Photo Tips > General Information > Open Talk


RIP - Garage Glamour

This is a discussion on RIP - Garage Glamour within the Open Talk forums, part of the General Information category; It appears that a hacker damaged the Garage Glamour website last week and now they are completely off line. The ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Light Moderator
 
srwatters's Avatar
 
Posts: 11,942
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: West Plano, Texas
Real First Name: Scott
Camera: Nikon D3 & Hasselblad H2
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 16

Likes Received LIKES Received: 47
Likes Given LIKES Given: 10
RIP - Garage Glamour - 06-28-2010, 09:33 AM


It appears that a hacker damaged the Garage Glamour website last week and now they are completely off line. The front page had been announcing a "New Site" for many months, but alas it had never been installed. I fear that this may be the death blow to what was once a great glamour photography forum.

Rolando Gomez, the site creator and owner, is a member who occasionally visits TPF. I hope that he is able to resurrect the former "Powerhouse of Glamour Photography" website. Until then we wait...

In the meantime, you can visit Jimmy D's blog for some interesting glamour photography reading/viewing. Warning, site is NSFW!

Pretty Girl Shooter Blogspot

---------------------------
Scott Watters
PoloDigital | Flickr | Pbase
Nikon | Hasselblad | Phase One | Hensel | Apple
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.
  (#2) Old
Light Moderator
 
srwatters's Avatar
 
Posts: 11,942
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: West Plano, Texas
Real First Name: Scott
Camera: Nikon D3 & Hasselblad H2
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 16

Likes Received LIKES Received: 47
Likes Given LIKES Given: 10
06-29-2010, 10:03 AM


It looks like GG is back up. Still the old software. I can't believe they didn't use the opportunity to launch the new site. Makes me wonder if they ever will...

---------------------------
Scott Watters
PoloDigital | Flickr | Pbase
Nikon | Hasselblad | Phase One | Hensel | Apple
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Premium Member
 
ThePhotoBinder's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,200
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sugar Land, Texas
Real First Name: Marc
Camera: Nikon D300
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 2

Likes Received LIKES Received: 3
Likes Given LIKES Given: 1
06-29-2010, 10:17 AM


I was looking at using LiveBooks.com for future project, but after Roland told us last week he got hack. I think I might look else where.

---------------------------
Marc Binder - Blog
The Photo Binder Photography Workshops
OneTalentsSource E-Magazine
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Forum Regular
 
z-monster's Avatar
 
Posts: 601
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Reaford, North Carolina
Real First Name: Justin
Camera: Canon 1D mark III & 50D
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 5

Likes Received LIKES Received: 22
Likes Given LIKES Given: 90
06-29-2010, 06:02 PM


There's no reason to be frightened due to a hack. Hackers constantly hack sites in order to prove that it can be done to their peers or to show to the moderators that it needs to update the websites secuirty. It's a form of showing off.

Very rarely is it to harm or destroy but it often does. I'm sure Roland is taking great efforts to update the websites security.
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
Forum Master
 
janikphoto's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,838
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dallas, Texas
Real First Name: Jason
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 3

Likes Received LIKES Received: 2
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
06-30-2010, 12:01 PM


Quote:
Originally Posted by z-monster View Post
There's no reason to be frightened due to a hack. Hackers constantly hack sites in order to prove that it can be done to their peers or to show to the moderators that it needs to update the websites secuirty. It's a form of showing off.

Very rarely is it to harm or destroy but it often does. I'm sure Roland is taking great efforts to update the websites security.
it may be rare, but it DOES happen. Allison V Smith, a very well-known editorial photog based in North Texas even had her domain name stolen out from under her several years back. They replaced her site with a porn site. I guess her name was a popular enough search that it was worth stealing for use in porn?!? Anyway, almost anything can and will be done when greed and profit are concerned...
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Forum Regular
 
z-monster's Avatar
 
Posts: 601
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Reaford, North Carolina
Real First Name: Justin
Camera: Canon 1D mark III & 50D
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 5

Likes Received LIKES Received: 22
Likes Given LIKES Given: 90
06-30-2010, 03:05 PM


Quote:
Originally Posted by z-monster View Post
Very rarely is it to harm or destroy but it often does.
Quote:
Originally Posted by janikphoto View Post
it may be rare, but it DOES happen.
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
Forum Master
 
janikphoto's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,838
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dallas, Texas
Real First Name: Jason
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 3

Likes Received LIKES Received: 2
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
06-30-2010, 03:08 PM


Quote:
Originally Posted by z-monster View Post
why the huh, when I was supporting your statement?!? Now, I need a
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
garage, glamour, rip

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Visit Our Sponsors
 

Google Sponsors

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.

Copyright ©2004 - 2011, Abel Longoria - www.Pixtus.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.