Follow us on Twitter!
Follow us on Facebook!
 

Go Back   Pixtus - Photography Forum, Photographers, Photo Tips > General Information > Open Talk


Scam? or someone will get an incredible deal.

This is a discussion on Scam? or someone will get an incredible deal. within the Open Talk forums, part of the General Information category; http://houston.craigslist.org/pho/1849929415.html Seems to be "too good to be true" Screenshot of the original post: http://s90345153.onlinehome.us/CG/JK/NikonD3X.pdf...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Member
 
amator's Avatar
 
Posts: 226
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Houston, Texas
Real First Name: Mariusz
Camera: Nikon D7000
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 20

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 1
Scam? or someone will get an incredible deal. - 07-18-2010, 04:34 PM


http://houston.craigslist.org/pho/1849929415.html

Seems to be "too good to be true"

Screenshot of the original post:
http://s90345153.onlinehome.us/CG/JK/NikonD3X.pdf

---------------------------
Nikon user

Last edited by amator; 07-18-2010 at 05:08 PM.. Reason: attached screenshot
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.
  (#2) Old
Forum Regular
 
Flea77's Avatar
 
Posts: 944
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Huntsville, Texas
Real First Name: Allan
Camera: Nikon, Contax, Vivitar, Cambo, Yashica
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 3

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
07-18-2010, 04:36 PM


That's probably why it was flagged for removal :-)

Allan

---------------------------
Website | Blog
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Member
 
amator's Avatar
 
Posts: 226
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Houston, Texas
Real First Name: Mariusz
Camera: Nikon D7000
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 20

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 1
07-18-2010, 04:38 PM


How do you see it is flagged?

---------------------------
Nikon user
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Member
 
pjt72611's Avatar
 
Posts: 119
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Benbrook, Texas
Real First Name: Paul
Camera: Canon 50D
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
07-18-2010, 04:44 PM


The link now says it has been flagged.

---------------------------
My photos - http://www.flickr.com/photos/pjt72611/sets
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
Member
 
amator's Avatar
 
Posts: 226
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Houston, Texas
Real First Name: Mariusz
Camera: Nikon D7000
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 20

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 1
07-18-2010, 04:50 PM


For a reference here is a screenshot of the original ad:
http://s90345153.onlinehome.us/CG/JK/NikonD3X.pdf

---------------------------
Nikon user
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Member
 
ElanR's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,055
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, Texas
Real First Name: Elan
Camera: Nikon
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 42

Likes Received LIKES Received: 5
Likes Given LIKES Given: 4
07-18-2010, 07:06 PM


Whenever you run into a questionable ad like this one, just google a piece of it. I ran a search for "sarah.silver@msn.com craigslist." What came up were identical ads in Miami and New York. Very obviously a scam.

---------------------------
http://elanr.fotopic.net

I complained I had no hat, until I met a man who had no head.
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
Forum Master
 
janikphoto's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,838
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dallas, Texas
Real First Name: Jason
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 3

Likes Received LIKES Received: 2
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
07-18-2010, 09:00 PM


Yeah, Sarah Silver obviously had too much gear in that ad for it to be legit. I'm not a Nikon guy, but I can still recognize that just the lens, flash and accessories could eat up most of that $2.5k she wants.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
deal, incredible, scam

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Visit Our Sponsors
 

Google Sponsors

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.

Copyright ©2004 - 2011, Abel Longoria - www.Pixtus.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.