Follow us on Twitter!
Follow us on Facebook!
 

Go Back   Pixtus - Photography Forum, Photographers, Photo Tips > General Information > Open Talk


Lux Awards

This is a discussion on Lux Awards within the Open Talk forums, part of the General Information category; Is anybody going to enter into the Lux awards? I saw a link on this website and I am interested. ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Junior Member
 
carloscast79's Avatar
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Humble, TX, Texas
Real First Name: Carlos
Camera: Nikon D80
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
Lux Awards - 07-28-2010, 10:18 AM


Is anybody going to enter into the Lux awards? I saw a link on this website and I am interested. Is it all legit?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.
  (#2) Old
Premium Member
 
epoh's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,766
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Real First Name: amy
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 2

Likes Received LIKES Received: 2
Likes Given LIKES Given: 3
07-28-2010, 11:15 AM


Are you talking about the Pakistani Oscars??? I wasn't aware Americans participated in that? It is 100% legit, of course. I don't know that anyone outside of the middle east participates.

---------------------------
amy r. brown
amybrownphotography.net
---
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Junior Member
 
carloscast79's Avatar
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Humble, TX, Texas
Real First Name: Carlos
Camera: Nikon D80
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
07-28-2010, 11:35 AM


Here is the link. It was an add I saw on TPF yesterday.

Lux. -
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Premium Member
 
epoh's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,766
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Real First Name: amy
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 2

Likes Received LIKES Received: 2
Likes Given LIKES Given: 3
07-28-2010, 11:47 AM


Ah.. different then.

I'm personally not a fan of a contest that requires you to pay money to enter. They state you keep the copyright to you photo, which is good. I've not heard of it prior to this, obviously, so I can't say if it's legit. If the wording on the official entry makes it clear you are not handing over your copyright you are probably safe to try it out.

---------------------------
amy r. brown
amybrownphotography.net
---
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
Forum Sponsor
 
TM_Images's Avatar
 
Posts: 90
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Dallas,
Real First Name: Tom
Camera: Nikon
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
07-28-2010, 12:06 PM


Hey guys, Tom Maddrey here. I am the founder of the Eclipse Institute, which is one of the founders of the Lux Awards.

I wanted to chime in and say thanks for checking out the competition, and I hope to be able to answer your questions.

We developed Lux with some of the top companies to give away some amazing prizes like trips to Alaska, cameras, etc. as epoh mentioned, we are not like many competitions out there. We do not make any claims to copyright, use your images in any way, or produce a book you have to buy. We just want to give away almost 35k in prizes!

epoh, good call on knowing the Lux Style Awards in Pakistan! As we were naming the contest, we found them, of course, but figured we were different enough to avoid confusion! :)

carloscast79, we would love to have your entry. every week we are giving away $50 gift cards to Arlington Camera, and they are a primary sponsor and partner of Lux. Lux is based in Dallas, and I am always here to answer questions at 877.749.7990.

I hope you get some feedback that we are the real deal, and we hope you enter! If I can answer any other questions, please post to this thread or give us a call!

-- Tom Maddrey

---------------------------
Tom Maddrey

Eclipse Photography Institute
Online. On Demand. On Your Schedule.
Pro Level Training for Serious Photographers
www.EclipseInstitute.com


Tom Maddrey Images
Nature :: Commercial :: Workshops :: Consulting
www.tommaddrey.com
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Member
 
Arlington Camera's Avatar
 
Posts: 168
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Arlington, Texas
Real First Name: Hermilo
Camera: All
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
07-28-2010, 01:13 PM


by all means, the lux awards are “legit” and we are so excited to be sponsoring the contest this year along with westcott, lensbaby, datacolor and lowepro – just to name a few. tons of great prizes – they’re even giving away a Canon 5D Mark II or Nikon D700 provided by yours truly. while there is an entry fee of $12, they’re also giving away a $50 gift card to arlington camera EVERY WEEK! i’ve mailed out 3 already.

we know tom personally here at the store – great guy. he teaches all of our basic digital classes. i would enter the contest myself, but he won’t let me. if you have any questions, give him a call – 877.749.7990. and should you enter – good luck!

melanie

---------------------------
http://www.ArlingtonCamera.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
awards, lux

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Visit Our Sponsors
 

Google Sponsors

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.

Copyright ©2004 - 2011, Abel Longoria - www.Pixtus.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.