Follow us on Twitter!
Follow us on Facebook!
 

Go Back   Pixtus - Photography Forum, Photographers, Photo Tips > General Information > Open Talk


Shady dealings - Seller from San Antonio Craigslist

This is a discussion on Shady dealings - Seller from San Antonio Craigslist within the Open Talk forums, part of the General Information category; I have been browsing Craigslist, and I came across an ad for a bunch of stuff, including a sp studios ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Senior Member
 
shnitz's Avatar
 
Posts: 316
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Real First Name: Ariel
Camera: Nikon D200, Panasonic G2
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 15
Likes Given LIKES Given: 13
Shady dealings - Seller from San Antonio Craigslist - 03-27-2011, 08:58 PM


I have been browsing Craigslist, and I came across an ad for a bunch of stuff, including a sp studios excalibur system, white lightning x800, a bunch of developing gear, Nikon hoods, etc. It seems a little shady, since when I emailed him, he said that he was actually in San Antonio, but he's posted in Austin. I got curious, and started doing some google searches, and I came across the same ad in many other cities, along with a few posts here:

Lots of Camera gear: Nikon, Toyo, Kodak,Lots of gear, bags, lighting
http://www.texasphotoforum.com/forum...archid=2581019

The Austin one has been flagged for removal. Does this sound fishy to anyone? Do you think it's a setup for some kind of scam, or is he just desperate to sell and is posting in multiple cities? If so, then he isn't doing a very good job. He isn't directly connected with the equipment, so he can't really vouch for it (he tried to tell me that the x800 is unused. Yeahhhh right). Also, he's asking pretty ridiculous prices. $325 for an old X800, when a new one is $390, or $350 with student discount and comes with 5 year warranty, and then he's insisting on selling the 85mm lens hood separately from the lens.

I sent him an email, but I'm definitely wary about this. I will want him to meet at like a Starbucks or something, and I told him that he has to come down to a realistic price (there are Hensel lights in Dallas Craigslist that I could just have my brother pick up for me for the same price), and factor in time and gas, considering he's expecting people to go to San Antonio. Plus, it kind of sucks that it's obvious from his post that he doesn't know much, if anything, about the equipment, so he can't really check anything before I'd drive down there. Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.
  (#2) Old
Account Banned
 
camera shy's Avatar
 
Posts: 236
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Enid Ok, Oklahoma
Real First Name: Robin
Camera: Canon 40D
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 9
Likes Given LIKES Given: 1
03-27-2011, 09:01 PM


It sounds like you are looking for a bargain and he's trying to make a profit.
Nothing wrong with either concept but it doesn't sound like you guys are a match.
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Senior Member
 
ChrisTX's Avatar
 
Posts: 408
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Mansfield, Texas
Real First Name: Chris
Camera: Nikon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 57
Likes Given LIKES Given: 24
03-27-2011, 10:24 PM


Scams they do all the time. Copy someone else's ad, paste it in another city. Tell people you aren't in that city, then when people send you money, they vanish. They have no idea what the stuff is they are supposedly selling, so it's pointless to inquire.
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Senior Member
 
shnitz's Avatar
 
Posts: 316
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Real First Name: Ariel
Camera: Nikon D200, Panasonic G2
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 15
Likes Given LIKES Given: 13
03-28-2011, 01:17 PM


Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisTX View Post
Scams they do all the time. Copy someone else's ad, paste it in another city. Tell people you aren't in that city, then when people send you money, they vanish. They have no idea what the stuff is they are supposedly selling, so it's pointless to inquire.
Thanks, that's exactly what I'm looking for. I was wondering if people had experience with these kinds of dealings. I guess with the free posting of Craigslist, any new outlet to scam people is worth trying.

Quote:
Originally Posted by camera shy View Post
It sounds like you are looking for a bargain and he's trying to make a profit.
Nothing wrong with either concept but it doesn't sound like you guys are a match.
I don't think hoping for more than $25 off of an originally $350 item is "looking for a bargain," especially considering (if it were legit) that he expected someone to drive 90 miles one way to buy it.
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
Senior Member
 
tertius's Avatar
 
Posts: 283
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas
Real First Name: Kyle
Camera: Nikon
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
03-28-2011, 04:31 PM


I consider most things on Craigslist shady.
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Only visiting this planet
 
SJHester's Avatar
 
Posts: 344
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: McKinney, Texas
Real First Name: Steve
Camera: Olympus stuff
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 1

Likes Received LIKES Received: 11
Likes Given LIKES Given: 47
03-28-2011, 11:08 PM


my wife and I purchase and sell items on CL quite frequently. Mostly furniture. I would never purchase electronics or photo gear on CL. I always buy and sell locally. Cash and Carry, both in purchasing and selling.

this one smells like the paper they wrap fish in a pikes market
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antonio, craigslist, dealings, san, seller, shady

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Visit Our Sponsors
 

Google Sponsors

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.

Copyright ©2004 - 2011, Abel Longoria - www.Pixtus.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.