Follow us on Twitter!
Follow us on Facebook!
 

Go Back   Pixtus - Photography Forum, Photographers, Photo Tips > General Information > Open Talk


Scam or Real?

This is a discussion on Scam or Real? within the Open Talk forums, part of the General Information category; (removed url so they can't get any search engine upgrades from a great community such as TPF thanks for all ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Forum Master
 
rages4calm's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,007
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Vienna, Virginia
Real First Name: Carl
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 1

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
Send a message via ICQ to rages4calm Send a message via AIM to rages4calm Send a message via MSN to rages4calm Send a message via Yahoo to rages4calm Send a message via Skype™ to rages4calm
Scam or Real? - 02-13-2007, 08:08 AM


(removed url so they can't get any search engine upgrades from a great community such as TPF thanks for all the replies)

Carl

---------------------------
http://www.carl-prewitt.com

Last edited by rages4calm; 02-13-2007 at 10:52 AM..
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.
  (#2) Old
Senior Member
 
daveb's Avatar
 
Posts: 492
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Arlington, Texas
Real First Name: dave
Camera: Nikon D700, D2X, D200, D70,F6
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 1

Likes Received LIKES Received: 7
Likes Given LIKES Given: 3
02-13-2007, 08:21 AM


Quote:
Originally Posted by rages4calm

I keep getting contacted by that company on myspace and I can't tell if its a scam or real.
my vote --- scam --- they are trying too lard for you to believe that it is a powerful, genuine, and legit opportunity


EDIT - removed url to prevent SEO as well

---------------------------
Dave
Image Fusion Studio
http://www.imagefusionstudio.com
Studio Alegria
http://www.studioalegria.net
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Premium Member
 
lscottpht's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,981
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: McKinney, Texas
Real First Name: Leslie
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 3

Likes Received LIKES Received: 133
Likes Given LIKES Given: 152
02-13-2007, 08:36 AM


You never make money at these things. Waste of time, don't do it! Someone is getting rich, but it won't be you.
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Uber Poster
 
JamesB's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,382
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Houston, Texas
Real First Name: James
Camera: 60D
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 3

Likes Received LIKES Received: 1
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
02-13-2007, 09:00 AM


taken from their site
"I am going to hold your hand and spoon-feed you the information step-by-step. "

remeber if it smells like a fish......it probablly is.

James
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
Senior Member
 
scott1120's Avatar
 
Posts: 454
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Real First Name: Scott
Camera: Nikon d50
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
02-13-2007, 09:25 AM


If you hover over the "order now" the link redirects to clickbank.net. Which I have known to host a variety of these "work from home" opportunities. I agree with everybody else it is probably a scam.

---------------------------
Scott
Canon Powershot and Nikon D50 Nikkor 18-55, Nikkor 70-300
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Forum Master
 
rages4calm's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,007
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Vienna, Virginia
Real First Name: Carl
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 1

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
Send a message via ICQ to rages4calm Send a message via AIM to rages4calm Send a message via MSN to rages4calm Send a message via Yahoo to rages4calm Send a message via Skype™ to rages4calm
02-13-2007, 10:26 AM


I kind of figured it was, but wanted to check to see if anyone has heard of it before i agreed with myself :)

Thanks

---------------------------
http://www.carl-prewitt.com
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
Account Removed Per User Request
 
CobyPhoto's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,087
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: xxxx,
Real First Name: xxxx
Camera: xxxx
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 7

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
02-13-2007, 10:39 AM


Totally scam. They don't care if you ever upload a single image. They only want you to guy their "book" or "Program" at a discount price, that probably costs them 2.00 to produce and that is it. If you do happen to upload something worthwhile, they are going to pay you minimally and I bet there is a clause that states you have to reliquish all rights to the photo. Hmmm, who wins on that?

CJ
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
Forum Master
 
rages4calm's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,007
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Vienna, Virginia
Real First Name: Carl
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 1

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
Send a message via ICQ to rages4calm Send a message via AIM to rages4calm Send a message via MSN to rages4calm Send a message via Yahoo to rages4calm Send a message via Skype™ to rages4calm
02-13-2007, 10:50 AM


Quote:
Originally Posted by CobyPhoto
Totally scam. They don't care if you ever upload a single image. They only want you to guy their "book" or "Program" at a discount price, that probably costs them 2.00 to produce and that is it. If you do happen to upload something worthwhile, they are going to pay you minimally and I bet there is a clause that states you have to reliquish all rights to the photo. Hmmm, who wins on that?

CJ

Funny :-P My name is also CJ lol

Also since i know its a scam im going to not give them the satisfaction of SEO upgrade so im removing the hyperlink in original thread.

thanks for the replies.

---------------------------
http://www.carl-prewitt.com
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
Senior Member
 
Pikachu's Avatar
 
Posts: 257
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Coppell, TX,
Real First Name: Kevin
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 3

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
02-13-2007, 01:14 PM


I'd be willing to bet it's nothing more than a list of online stock agencies and the like, or other information you could easily find on your own for free....

---------------------------
Mmmmm..... Alcohol..... The cause of, and solution to, all of life's problems. - Homer (Simpson)


When I die, I hope to die as my grandmother did; peacefully, in my sleep. Not panic-stricken and screaming in terror like the rest of the people in her car.
Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
Uber Poster
 
Clint_Smith's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,327
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Real First Name: Clint
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 7

Likes Received LIKES Received: 4
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
02-14-2007, 12:09 AM


Carl if you are looking to throw away money...I am a lot closer to you...LOL!

---------------------------
RAW - Because I am smarter than my camera!

Website: ClintSmithPhoto.com
Reply With Quote
  (#11) Old
Senior Member
 
scott1120's Avatar
 
Posts: 454
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Real First Name: Scott
Camera: Nikon d50
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
02-14-2007, 08:12 AM


I thought about it more. You could always use a credit card get the information and then request a refund. I have done it in the past and I found out that most of these companies are not very technically literate and keep all the "e-books" at a single url that has no security. You just need to know the url. If they don't give you the refund then dispute with you cc bank. Then if you get the info you could share with your friends and put a little something to these scammers.

---------------------------
Scott
Canon Powershot and Nikon D50 Nikkor 18-55, Nikkor 70-300
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
real, scam

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Visit Our Sponsors
 

Google Sponsors

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.

Copyright ©2004 - 2011, Abel Longoria - www.Pixtus.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.