Follow us on Twitter!
Follow us on Facebook!
 

Go Back   Pixtus - Photography Forum, Photographers, Photo Tips > General Information > Open Talk


Suspicious email message.

This is a discussion on Suspicious email message. within the Open Talk forums, part of the General Information category; Take it...then when he overpays, tell him you ran into some issues and even his overpayment won't cover the costs. ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#16) Old
Forum Regular
 
Torrey's Avatar
 
Posts: 775
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Plano, Texas
Real First Name: Torrey
Camera: Canon XS
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 1
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
03-15-2007, 03:33 PM


Take it...then when he overpays, tell him you ran into some issues and even his overpayment won't cover the costs. Then tell him you will need some cash so that you can avoid taxes or something to that effect.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.
  (#17) Old
Camouflaged Moderator
 
Daniel Bates's Avatar
 
Posts: 11,352
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Daegu, Korea
Real First Name: Daniel
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 9

Likes Received LIKES Received: 31
Likes Given LIKES Given: 35
03-15-2007, 03:36 PM


It's a scam... the chances of it being real are verrrrry small. You can try following it up but honestly I wouldn't bother.

Besides, who uses "Esteemed Greetings to you," as their salutation?

---------------------------
Forum Rules Here | How To: Report rule violations
Reply With Quote
  (#18) Old
Uber Poster
 
PeteQ's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,777
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pine Bush, NY, New York
Real First Name: Pete
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 3

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 2
03-15-2007, 03:36 PM


You just never know... You could be walking away from money. See this thread: http://www.texasphotoforum.com/forum...ad.php?t=39104

---------------------------
Website: http://www.quinncophoto.com
Twitter: http://twitter.com/petequinn
Reply With Quote
  (#19) Old
Forum Regular
 
byarger's Avatar
 
Posts: 635
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Arlington, TX, Texas
Real First Name: Bob
Camera: Canon 7D
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 2

Likes Received LIKES Received: 1
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
03-15-2007, 03:42 PM


This is the type of thing where they try to arrange for the money part of the transaction well in advance of the actual event, in order to minimize suspicion that the event is phony. Some people are more willing and less discriminating with the prospect of being paid in advance.

---------------------------
Bob Yarger

"My advice to you is to start drinking heavily." - John Belushi, Animal House
Reply With Quote
  (#20) Old
Senior Member
 
dragonspyke's Avatar
 
Posts: 301
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Houston, Tx,
Real First Name: Fernando
Camera: Nikon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 1

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
Send a message via AIM to dragonspyke Send a message via MSN to dragonspyke Send a message via Yahoo to dragonspyke
03-15-2007, 03:45 PM


well, as long as my suspicious were confirmed. That is all I needed to know.

---------------------------
Nikon D50, Sigma 28-70mm lens, 70-300mm Sigma Lens, Portable Studio.

Dragonspyke Photography(myspace)

Dragonspyke Model Mayhem
Reply With Quote
  (#21) Old
Account Banned
 
DEMDeepEllumMusic's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,487
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dallas, Texas,
Real First Name: Paul
Camera: Kodak SLRN
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
03-15-2007, 04:54 PM


Play him like a fish, qoute him a day rate but say that you need to know at what time of day the party will be held because at night you require additional helpers to handle lighting and other things.

Ask who the company is, if he is legit he will tell you who it is, because you would like some background information on "the boss" because you may be able to do some special things for him photographically wise if you know who it is.

Also tell him that you need a 50% non-refundable deposit to lock in the date and you need that by next Friday. (DO NOT CASH THE CHECK BECAUSE IT IS RUBBER AND EVEN IF IT BOUNCES THE Y CAN GET ROUTING INFORMATION OFF OF IT!) Tell him that you can do Western Union and you prefer it that way!

See what his reaction is.

I get a bunch of these which I seldom read but deleat right away so I never get to play with them.
Reply With Quote
  (#22) Old
Member
 
DragonFly's Avatar
 
Posts: 71
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Arlington, Texas
Real First Name: Carl
Camera: Nikon
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 1

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
03-15-2007, 05:31 PM


I'm not sure if this will be of any help but I did Goggle the name. This is the result that came up in the Residential Phone book. I would still use caution just thought the more information you had the more it might help..

Benjamin A Smith (832) 237-9548 10818 Willowmist Dr,Houston, TX 77064
Using map point with the shortest route this address is 18.8 Miles from the park address listed.
Reply With Quote
  (#23) Old
Forum Master
 
robert t's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,590
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: FM 1960 Klein, north of Houston, Texas
Real First Name: see above ^
Camera: Canon 1D Mark IV, 7D
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 14

Likes Received LIKES Received: 1
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
03-15-2007, 06:56 PM


Play the game and scam him back. Check out www.419eater.com it was created to warn about the Nigerian 419 scam. They scam the scammers. some of the stories are hilarious. If you need help ask, safety in numbers.

---------------------------
Robert T
Born Texan, Canon by Choice. www.rltphoto.com
"...Photography is about photographers. A camera didn't make a great picture any more than a typewriter wrote a great novel". - Peter Adams -1978
Reply With Quote
  (#24) Old
Senior Member
 
Tapper's Avatar
 
Posts: 269
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Allen,
Real First Name: Brian
Camera: D200
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 2

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
Send a message via ICQ to Tapper Send a message via AIM to Tapper Send a message via Yahoo to Tapper
03-15-2007, 08:50 PM


Hmm. Missing a few of the characteristic clues of a scam, and includes a lot of specific information.

Give him a real quote, and your paypal account number. Require 50% deposit in paypal, or even some other service like western union, etc. Avoid checks, unless they are local. No cashiers checks. No bank counter checks. Money orders are often forged.

A lot tougher for them to wiggle around paypal.

How would he know to contact you? Do you advertise? Have a studio?

---------------------------
At night I dreamed that life was beauty, but I awoke and life was duty. So I bought a camera.
Reply With Quote
  (#25) Old
Member
 
LaurieE's Avatar
 
Posts: 106
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Spring,
Real First Name: Laurie
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 2
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
03-15-2007, 09:13 PM


Hope this helps! :-) SCAM!!!
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/rema...am+photography
Reply With Quote
  (#26) Old
Luminous Cat Herder
 
Ahh!'s Avatar
 
Posts: 4,857
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Frisco, Texas
Real First Name: Peter
Camera: Nikon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 2

Likes Received LIKES Received: 29
Likes Given LIKES Given: 23
03-15-2007, 11:42 PM


Quote:
Originally Posted by DragonFly
I'm not sure if this will be of any help but I did Goggle the name. This is the result that came up in the Residential Phone book. I would still use caution just thought the more information you had the more it might help..

Benjamin A Smith (832) 237-9548 10818 Willowmist Dr,Houston, TX 77064
Using map point with the shortest route this address is 18.8 Miles from the park address listed.
Here's another hint. If you can google the name...SCAMMERS can too.

Before you bother with something with SCAM written all over it (see the original posting. It sounded like scam to you then, it still sounds like SCAM to us now), why waste your time? The email was not addressed to your friend, and it did not cite a name or website associated with your friend. No specifics. Just a bunch of sunshine pointed from a unnatural direction.

Let it go and go back to honing your skill behind the lense. Or catch on on some sleep.

If you insist on playing with this, get the police involved first. Then come and tell us how it goes AFTERWARD the big sting operation. We don't want to taint the investigation.

---------------------------
Putting the Ahh! in Photography.
A 35 to my eye and a 45 by my side.
What say you?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
email, message, suspicious

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Visit Our Sponsors
 

Google Sponsors

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.

Copyright ©2004 - 2011, Abel Longoria - www.Pixtus.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.