Wierd Code QuestionsThis is a discussion on Wierd Code Questions within the Open Talk forums, part of the General Information category; On my pbase.com account I get about 10 of these postings per day and I keep deleting them, but I'm ...
(#1)
| | Premium Member
Posts: 3,626 Join Date: Mar 2005 Location: Flower Mound (DFW), Texas Real First Name: David Camera: Nikon Can Others Edit My Photos: No iTrader Rating: 4 LIKES Received: 0 LIKES Given: 0 | Wierd Code Questions -
07-28-2007, 03:12 PM
On my pbase.com account I get about 10 of these postings per day and I keep deleting them, but I'm curious why someone would post them. I'm sure I'm not the only person getting them, but to go through all the effort to post, what are they getting out of it?
ro563ck new459@gmail.com 28-Jul-2007 05:37
m841k
ro394ck new690@gmail.com 28-Jul-2007 04:44
m262k
ro925ck new510@gmail.com 28-Jul-2007 03:51
m941k
ro251ck new25@gmail.com 28-Jul-2007 02:57
m862k
The email addresses are all free gmail accounts and the posting is simply 1 letter, 3#'s and 1 letter, that appear to be random.
Any ideas from your computer types?
Maybe it's a secret message from terrorists!  | | | | | Sponsored Links | Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.
|
(#2)
| | Forum Master
Posts: 1,167 Join Date: Jan 2007 Location: Fort Worth, Texas Real First Name: Rusty Camera: Canon 30D Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes iTrader Rating: 7 LIKES Received: 0 LIKES Given: 0 |
07-28-2007, 03:22 PM
Yup, sounds like some sort of diabolical secret code to me. Hmmm...
---------------------------
Canon Stuff. LinkedIn Profile
If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants.
-Isaac Newton (and others)
| | | |
(#3)
| | Forum Master
Posts: 1,335 Join Date: May 2005 Location: Kendalia, TX, Texas Real First Name: Mark Camera: Nikon D200 Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes iTrader Rating: 2 LIKES Received: 4 LIKES Given: 0 |
07-28-2007, 03:52 PM
Google "new690@gmail.com" and you get a ton of hits.
What does it mean? Don't know, but the email account is quite active, looks a junk mail account.
---------------------------
Mark O.
Kendalia, TX My Gallery | | | |
(#4)
| | Account Banned
Posts: 5,487 Join Date: Oct 2005 Location: Dallas, Texas, Real First Name: Paul Camera: Kodak SLRN Can Others Edit My Photos: No iTrader Rating: 0 LIKES Received: 0 LIKES Given: 0 |
07-28-2007, 06:45 PM
Next time one pops up hover over it and see what shows down in your lower toolbar (on IE) and see if it is the same email or something else. Maybe phishing hoping that you would click on it and end up downloading malicious software.
Have you let Pbase know about this?
I have not had any of these show up yet on my account and I get a couple thousand hits a day on my albums now. | | | |
(#5)
| | Premium Member
Posts: 3,626 Join Date: Mar 2005 Location: Flower Mound (DFW), Texas Real First Name: David Camera: Nikon Can Others Edit My Photos: No iTrader Rating: 4 LIKES Received: 0 LIKES Given: 0 |
07-28-2007, 10:01 PM
Quote: |
Originally Posted by DEMDeepEllumMusic Next time one pops up hover over it and see what shows down in your lower toolbar (on IE) and see if it is the same email or something else. Maybe phishing hoping that you would click on it and end up downloading malicious software.
Have you let Pbase know about this?
I have not had any of these show up yet on my account and I get a couple thousand hits a day on my albums now. | Yes I did notify pbase and I seem to get about a dozen once a week and I delete them all.
I'll look a little closer next time they pop up, because I'm sure they will, but I don't think they are hyperlinks. | | | |
(#6)
| | Premium Member
Posts: 3,626 Join Date: Mar 2005 Location: Flower Mound (DFW), Texas Real First Name: David Camera: Nikon Can Others Edit My Photos: No iTrader Rating: 4 LIKES Received: 0 LIKES Given: 0 |
07-28-2007, 10:04 PM
Actually I did a search of the email addresses and found similar posts here: http://www.askmen.com/specials/2007_...picture-1.html
The "code" isn't a hyperlink, just plain text so I'm puzzled as to what the poster gets out of it. ?? | | | |
(#7)
| | Premium Member
Posts: 8,981 Join Date: Jan 2005 Location: McKinney, Texas Real First Name: Leslie Camera: Canon Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes iTrader Rating: 3 LIKES Received: 133 LIKES Given: 152 |
07-29-2007, 10:24 AM
Quote: |
Originally Posted by dbphotos On my pbase.com account I get about 10 of these postings per day and I keep deleting them, but I'm curious why someone would post them. I'm sure I'm not the only person getting them, but to go through all the effort to post, what are they getting out of it?
ro563ck new459@gmail.com 28-Jul-2007 05:37
m841k
ro394ck new690@gmail.com 28-Jul-2007 04:44
m262k
ro925ck new510@gmail.com 28-Jul-2007 03:51
m941k
ro251ck new25@gmail.com 28-Jul-2007 02:57
m862k
The email addresses are all free gmail accounts and the posting is simply 1 letter, 3#'s and 1 letter, that appear to be random.
Any ideas from your computer types?
Maybe it's a secret message from terrorists!  | I'm getting them, too, but only on my Cindy Sheehan gallery. I thought it had something to do with that. | | | |
(#8)
| | Premium Member
Posts: 3,626 Join Date: Mar 2005 Location: Flower Mound (DFW), Texas Real First Name: David Camera: Nikon Can Others Edit My Photos: No iTrader Rating: 4 LIKES Received: 0 LIKES Given: 0 |
07-29-2007, 05:08 PM
I'm getting them on my Hurricane Katrina gallery and I just delete them. I did talk to pbase and they gave me the stock "spam" answer.
They have to be getting something out of it or they wouldn't keep posting them. I deleted 6 more today. The only link in the whole message is the email address.
I'm sure some hacker or criminal has found out a new way to gather information by doing this, I just can't figure out what it is. | | | |
(#9)
| | Premium Member
Posts: 8,981 Join Date: Jan 2005 Location: McKinney, Texas Real First Name: Leslie Camera: Canon Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes iTrader Rating: 3 LIKES Received: 133 LIKES Given: 152 |
07-29-2007, 09:30 PM
Quote: |
Originally Posted by dbphotos I'm getting them on my Hurricane Katrina gallery and I just delete them. I did talk to pbase and they gave me the stock "spam" answer.
They have to be getting something out of it or they wouldn't keep posting them. I deleted 6 more today. The only link in the whole message is the email address.
I'm sure some hacker or criminal has found out a new way to gather information by doing this, I just can't figure out what it is. | Yeah, I get quite a few of them and delete them daily. I haven't told anyone about it yet. I wasn't that concerned about it, but it is a pain in the butt. | | | |
(#10)
| | Uber Poster
Posts: 2,111 Join Date: Jul 2006 Location: Six Mile Run, PA, Real First Name: Michelle Camera: Canon 30D Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes iTrader Rating: 1 LIKES Received: 0 LIKES Given: 0 |
07-29-2007, 10:37 PM
It's those damn martians. It's a countdown. Didn't you watch the movie?
---------------------------
Kirlian, Cardboard Pinhole, light-sensitive paper. | | | |
(#11)
| | Uber Poster
Posts: 2,111 Join Date: Jul 2006 Location: Six Mile Run, PA, Real First Name: Michelle Camera: Canon 30D Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes iTrader Rating: 1 LIKES Received: 0 LIKES Given: 0 |
07-29-2007, 10:37 PM
Please excuse me, it was rude of me to group all ET's as being from Mars. I apologize for my ignorance.
---------------------------
Kirlian, Cardboard Pinhole, light-sensitive paper. | | | | | Thread Tools | | | | Display Modes | Linear Mode |
Posting Rules
| You may not post new threads You may not post replies You may not post attachments You may not edit your posts HTML code is Off | | | | Google Sponsors | Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.
| |
Copyright ©2004 - 2011, Abel Longoria - www.Pixtus.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7 Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc. |