Follow us on Twitter!
Follow us on Facebook!
 

Go Back   Pixtus - Photography Forum, Photographers, Photo Tips > General Information > Open Talk


I got an interesting email today...

This is a discussion on I got an interesting email today... within the Open Talk forums, part of the General Information category; “Dear Tim, YmI zZj We have found your resume at Monster.com and would like to suggest you a ZjJk Mz ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Forum Regular
 
Tim-in-TX's Avatar
 
Posts: 568
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pearland, TX, Texas
Real First Name: Tim
Camera: Canon 20D
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
I got an interesting email today... - 10-10-2007, 01:23 PM


“Dear Tim,
YmI zZj

We have found your resume at Monster.com and would like to suggest you a
ZjJk Mz

"Internet-manager" vacancy. We have studied your resume and are happy to
ZTV kO

inform you that your skills completely meet our requirements for this position.
N2 IzND

This is a part-time position.Your task will be the following:
NDU5 OWE

- To register on various popular english-speaking web forums
ZWUw MT

- To create new topics with the articles specified by our company
MTQ1 Mjl

- You will need to create topics on about 50 different web forums per day
ZjU1 OTBi

- To search for new web forums using Google, Yahoo!, MSN search engines
OTli NTQ0

- To send everyday reports by e-mail
Njdh NDJi

Your schedule will be flexible. You will need to spend on average 2-3 hours
Mj FmMG

per day, Monday-Friday. All communication will be online.
MWJ kYm

This job will allow you to:

- - Increase your income;
Mj gyM

- - Efficiently work at home;
Mj gy

- - Get additional free time;
ZW FhND

General requirements:
NDU 5OW

- - Internet and e-mail skills; Experience in online work;
MDFk ZW

- - Good communications skills
MD FkZW

- - Prior customer service experience is a good benefit;
MDF kZWI

- - Honesty, responsibility and promptness in operations;
Nj k4Nj

During the trial period you will be paid $3000 per month.
MD ljYz

If you are interested in this position, and would like to know more, please e-mail me
NT c4

We will contact you within 2 days”


My Reply:

“Go find some other loser to spread your SPAM! I would rather go jobless than contribute to the Web version of a Venereal Disease!”

No wonder there is so much spam out there, they are paying big buck to anyone willing to push their spam! I would like to get a hold of their forums list so I can go to those forums and give them this guys e-mail addy so they can send along their “thanks”.
The weird part is the random letters after each line. In my e-mail they are hard to see because they are in a really hard to see color, but I made them solid here so they could be seen. What is this, a new way to get around spam filters or something?

OH! And the reply e-mail addy is webpromote.info@gmail.com so whatever you do, don't start sending him a bunch of junk mail, that just would be wrong. Again his addy is webpromote.info@gmail.com.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.
  (#2) Old
Uber Poster
 
ngoduyviet's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,864
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Stafford, Texas
Real First Name: Viet
Camera: Any
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 35

Likes Received LIKES Received: 33
Likes Given LIKES Given: 4
Send a message via Skype™ to ngoduyviet
10-10-2007, 02:36 PM


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim-in-TX
snip...
OH! And the reply e-mail addy is webpromote.info@gmail.com so whatever you do, don't start sending him a bunch of junk mail, that just would be wrong. Again his addy is webpromote.info@gmail.com.
LOL, are you sure the reply email is webpromote.info@gmail.com? I mean, you need to make sure it is the correct email so anything we email to webpromote.info@gmail.com won't go to someone else
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Forum Regular
 
kenmyers70's Avatar
 
Posts: 564
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Murphy, Texas
Real First Name: Ken
Camera: Canon 50D
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
10-10-2007, 02:42 PM


Lets see. You send mail to webpromote.info@gmail.com. They have your return address. They sell your return address to 10,000 other spammers. You get more spam. Hmmmm. I don't think I like that approach.

Better approach: Use http://www.google.com/contact/spamreport.html to report spam. No additional spam shows up in your box. Much better.
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Senior Member
 
jon_k's Avatar
 
Posts: 445
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Richland Hills (Near FortWorth),
Real First Name: Jon
Camera: e500
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
Send a message via AIM to jon_k
10-10-2007, 02:44 PM


I highly doubt they'll pay 3 grand a month for this.

Probably you'll do the trial for a month spamming like crazy then when payday comes... nothing.

---------------------------
Well my camera is equipped with a 1000 megasquirtle light sensitive array with a megakilo double widget interface and a pseudo-terrafilter. its got 2 million hexafurtles with a 10 kiloplex and a rechargeable virtual combo-backplate. i also fitted an optical fillyfangle with predictive threshold histogram monitoring. it also has a light sensitive light meter and a time sensitive shutter mechanism.
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
You Can't Be Serious!!
 
Steelsun's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,216
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Real First Name: Brian
Camera: Canon 40D & 20D, iPhone 3G, and a Walgreens Disposable
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 4

Likes Received LIKES Received: 19
Likes Given LIKES Given: 26
10-10-2007, 03:47 PM


It's a common scam - they use you to do their spamming (and get your IP banned) for as long as possible, then they vanish.

---------------------------
Photography Business Sites (being redone): Steelsun Photo & Art , Sun Stock Photo , Shoot Houston
Primary Occupation (your friendly Photographer PI): Aenigma Group
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Forum Regular
 
Tim-in-TX's Avatar
 
Posts: 568
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pearland, TX, Texas
Real First Name: Tim
Camera: Canon 20D
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
10-10-2007, 03:55 PM


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmyers70
Lets see. You send mail to webpromote.info@gmail.com. They have your return address. They sell your return address to 10,000 other spammers. You get more spam. Hmmmm. I don't think I like that approach.

Better approach: Use http://www.google.com/contact/spamreport.html to report spam. No additional spam shows up in your box. Much better.
I'm guessing that they already have my address since they email me first. Plus, they got my email from my Resume at Monster.com, so they have my whole resume...of course I have not updated it in over a year, and I've moved and changed phone #'s and everything, so I'm not too worried. I doubt I'll get any reply. They probably sent that same email to everyone with a Resume at Monster.
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
You Can't Be Serious!!
 
Steelsun's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,216
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Real First Name: Brian
Camera: Canon 40D & 20D, iPhone 3G, and a Walgreens Disposable
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 4

Likes Received LIKES Received: 19
Likes Given LIKES Given: 26
10-10-2007, 04:20 PM


Monster was also one of the big sites hacked a few months ago where they (hackers) got tons of info from them.

---------------------------
Photography Business Sites (being redone): Steelsun Photo & Art , Sun Stock Photo , Shoot Houston
Primary Occupation (your friendly Photographer PI): Aenigma Group
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
Member
 
MikkiStreak's Avatar
 
Posts: 175
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dallas, Texas
Real First Name: Maria
Camera: Canon 5DM2
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 1
10-10-2007, 04:56 PM


It's a phishing tool - Every website search engine has a script running that searches web pages for email addresses (which is why many people will type their email as: mary123 at yahoo dot com). In fact, if you look at the list of who is in a thread on here, you'll see the phish searching... The lists are compiled and sold to marketing companies. Kind of reminds me of those ads in paper "Get $3000 per day mailing envelopes"....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
email, interesting, today

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Visit Our Sponsors
 

Google Sponsors

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.

Copyright ©2004 - 2011, Abel Longoria - www.Pixtus.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.