Follow us on Twitter!
Follow us on Facebook!
 

Go Back   Pixtus - Photography Forum, Photographers, Photo Tips > General Information > Open Talk


Too good to be true?

This is a discussion on Too good to be true? within the Open Talk forums, part of the General Information category; Okay, I am usually the first one to cry foul and say when something is too good to be true, ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Premium Member
 
MHampton's Avatar
 
Posts: 639
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Flower Mound, Texas
Real First Name: Michael
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 1

Likes Received LIKES Received: 34
Likes Given LIKES Given: 94
Question Too good to be true? - 11-29-2007, 12:16 AM


Okay, I am usually the first one to cry foul and say when something is too good to be true, but this one has me stumped. I haven't done a lot of business with any Amazon "partners" so I'm not sure how this works, but there is a "company" setting Photoship CS3 (full not upgrade) for $319. That's over half off the $649 price everyone else wants. So I gotta ask...what's the catch? I see that Amazon guarentees that if you don't get the merchandise they cover the cost and all that with their A-Z guarentee. Here's the link to the product on Amazon.

LinkToCS3

Tell me what you think. I'm thinking of using a card that I am going to cancel soon anyway and see what happens. Been wanting to dive into the world of real PS from elements but haven't convinced myself that I want it enough to spend the $650.

Anyone do much business with these amazon marketplace outfits before? Do you feel comfortable with the Amazon guarentee?

---------------------------
Michael Hampton http://www.MHamptonPhoto.com
Check out the NEW Pixtus Photography Cheat Sheet!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.
  (#2) Old
Forum Regular
 
akimartymar's Avatar
 
Posts: 668
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bridge City,
Real First Name: Martin
Camera: Canon 5D
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 6

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
11-29-2007, 12:50 AM


It's probably legit as far as you WILL get the product. You can purchase the academic version for a bit less than that. They are probably buying that version and then selling them.

---------------------------
Whatever you’re looking for is looking for you, too. The catch, of course, is recognizing it when it pops up in front of you.
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Premium Member
 
MHampton's Avatar
 
Posts: 639
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Flower Mound, Texas
Real First Name: Michael
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 1

Likes Received LIKES Received: 34
Likes Given LIKES Given: 94
11-29-2007, 12:53 AM


But the real question would be will I run into any problem when I try to register/activate the program?

---------------------------
Michael Hampton http://www.MHamptonPhoto.com
Check out the NEW Pixtus Photography Cheat Sheet!
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Forum Regular
 
akimartymar's Avatar
 
Posts: 668
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bridge City,
Real First Name: Martin
Camera: Canon 5D
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 6

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
11-29-2007, 01:03 AM


i seriously doubt it

---------------------------
Whatever you’re looking for is looking for you, too. The catch, of course, is recognizing it when it pops up in front of you.
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
Senior Member
 
Norma_S's Avatar
 
Posts: 470
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Stafford, Texas
Real First Name: Norma
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 8

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
11-29-2007, 01:41 AM


I got into Photoshop when I purchased CS2 from the Adobe website under a special price of either $199 or $299 (in summer of 2006) for people who were upgrading from a licensed version of Elements which I had. You might check out that and see if you can find a deal.

Norma

---------------------------
I'm working on Plan B every day.
www.NormaSchutt.com | www.HoustonBoudoir.com | www.HoustonPinup.com
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Forum Master
 
Duffy Pratt's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,289
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Missouri City,
Real First Name: Duffy
Camera: Canon 20D
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
11-29-2007, 01:25 PM


Here is a link to the PS Upgrade from Elements, for $299, for people who got Elements bundled as part of a camera purchase. I got a copy of Elements when I bought my Canon 20D. I never used that copy of elements, except two years later to read the serial number to the Adobe representative and take advantage of this deal.

Duffy
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
Senior Member
 
Norma_S's Avatar
 
Posts: 470
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Stafford, Texas
Real First Name: Norma
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 8

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
11-29-2007, 01:53 PM


Yes, that was exactly the deal I got with CS2. It's fully 100% legit at a no-brainer price. I recently purchased the upgrade to CS3 from the Adobe site and it installed flawlessly.

Norma

---------------------------
I'm working on Plan B every day.
www.NormaSchutt.com | www.HoustonBoudoir.com | www.HoustonPinup.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
good, true

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Visit Our Sponsors
 

Google Sponsors

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.

Copyright ©2004 - 2011, Abel Longoria - www.Pixtus.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.