Follow us on Twitter!
Follow us on Facebook!
 

Go Back   Pixtus - Photography Forum, Photographers, Photo Tips > General Information > Open Talk


Faith Clothing?

This is a discussion on Faith Clothing? within the Open Talk forums, part of the General Information category; I recently got an email from an agent for Faith Clothing asking if I'd be interested in a 10 day ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Forum Regular
 
Dokk's Avatar
 
Posts: 790
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lewisville, Texas
Real First Name: Mike
Camera: Olympus E-500
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 2
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
Faith Clothing? - 03-18-2008, 08:37 PM


I recently got an email from an agent for Faith Clothing asking if I'd be interested in a 10 day shoot in the UK. He said he found me through DFWPhoto Models. Has anyone else gotten an email like this? I'm kind of wondering if it's legit or not.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.
  (#2) Old
Forum Master
 
robert t's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,590
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: FM 1960 Klein, north of Houston, Texas
Real First Name: see above ^
Camera: Canon 1D Mark IV, 7D
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 14

Likes Received LIKES Received: 1
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
03-18-2008, 08:47 PM


Could be a scam, play it. see what happens. See if they start asking for money or personal info.

---------------------------
Robert T
Born Texan, Canon by Choice. www.rltphoto.com
"...Photography is about photographers. A camera didn't make a great picture any more than a typewriter wrote a great novel". - Peter Adams -1978
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
You Can't Be Serious!!
 
Steelsun's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,216
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Real First Name: Brian
Camera: Canon 40D & 20D, iPhone 3G, and a Walgreens Disposable
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 4

Likes Received LIKES Received: 19
Likes Given LIKES Given: 26
03-18-2008, 10:52 PM


Why would a UK shoot need have someone looking in a DFW site?

---------------------------
Photography Business Sites (being redone): Steelsun Photo & Art , Sun Stock Photo , Shoot Houston
Primary Occupation (your friendly Photographer PI): Aenigma Group
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Uber Poster
 
Jeff_Green's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,325
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Mansfield, Texas
Real First Name: Jeff
Camera: Nikon D300/D70
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 4

Likes Received LIKES Received: 50
Likes Given LIKES Given: 31
03-18-2008, 11:14 PM


Quote:
Originally Posted by Steelsun
Why would a UK shoot need have someone looking in a DFW site?
Because they know where all the best photographers are?! lol

---------------------------
"If you find a job you love, you'll never have to work a day in your life."
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
Permanently Banned
 
CaptainTom's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,341
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fort Worth, Tx,
Real First Name: Tom
Camera: canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 24

Likes Received LIKES Received: 5
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
03-18-2008, 11:21 PM


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dokk
I recently got an email from an agent for Faith Clothing asking if I'd be interested in a 10 day shoot in the UK. He said he found me through DFWPhoto Models. Has anyone else gotten an email like this? I'm kind of wondering if it's legit or not.
Dokk
I got the exact same offer.. Consider it a scam...
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Supa Dupa Poster
 
kenw's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,674
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cypress, Texas
Real First Name: Ken
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 2

Likes Received LIKES Received: 98
Likes Given LIKES Given: 83
03-19-2008, 08:45 AM


run away, run away, run away,.....

---------------------------
5th Generation Texian.
(line 2) Watch this, Spot!
(line 3) Have I shown you my photos of my grandson? Wait, don't run! Hey!
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
Forum Regular
 
Dokk's Avatar
 
Posts: 790
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lewisville, Texas
Real First Name: Mike
Camera: Olympus E-500
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 2
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
03-19-2008, 10:31 AM


That's what I wanted to know. I haven't gotten an answer back yet but I answered his email saying that I wanted $20,000 up front (non-refundable, of course), they pay for all transportation and expenses to, from and around the UK while I'm there, $1000 per shoot, $500 per published photo, they pay for all equipment, studio rentals and my assistant (that's you, Capt. Tom), so on and so forth. I told him that if he'd send me details, I'll send him a proposal.
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
Supa Dupa Poster
 
kenw's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,674
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cypress, Texas
Real First Name: Ken
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 2

Likes Received LIKES Received: 98
Likes Given LIKES Given: 83
03-19-2008, 10:41 AM


Expect a follow-up email that asks for your bank info to wire to you about 50% more than what you asked for, with instructions to simply return any “overages after deducting any further expenses you may incur”…..or words to that effect.....

---------------------------
5th Generation Texian.
(line 2) Watch this, Spot!
(line 3) Have I shown you my photos of my grandson? Wait, don't run! Hey!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clothing, faith

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Visit Our Sponsors
 

Google Sponsors

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.

Copyright ©2004 - 2011, Abel Longoria - www.Pixtus.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.