Follow us on Twitter!
Follow us on Facebook!
 

Go Back   Pixtus - Photography Forum, Photographers, Photo Tips > General Information > Open Talk


I thinks I smell me a scam on MySpace

This is a discussion on I thinks I smell me a scam on MySpace within the Open Talk forums, part of the General Information category; Found a casting call on MySpace for Models Photographers and Stylists in the Houston area. I replied and it has ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Forum Regular
 
dreemes's Avatar
 
Posts: 621
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bullard, Texas
Real First Name: Dan
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 1

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
I thinks I smell me a scam on MySpace - 03-21-2008, 01:13 PM


Found a casting call on MySpace for Models Photographers and Stylists in the Houston area. I replied and it has the typical "we send you a check and you send the balance to someone else" Nigerian scam. I am going to file an abuse report with MySpace.

*****

Thanks for the quick response and interest. The name of the company is Essentials Magazine. it has just been established in United Kingdom also. Presently the company needs models,photographers and stylist on a new and very special edition and am giving you the offer. Your pictures,names and work will be exhibited on their website and also after the first set of picture sent. Their magazines will be sent to you in order for you to know about the company. Subsequently depending on you and how well you are accepted by our moderators, you could be invited over to the company to sign a contract with you. The location of the shoots will be somewhere close to where you are located. as soon as we agree the client will be notified about you. The date for the shooting is not yet fixed,i will have to make arrangement for that ahead from now,there is a company financing this whole project,i will email you the exact date for the shooting as soon as the arrangement is completed with our client.
As part of our working policy and ethics,we give part payment to our clients before we proceed with any job and balance immediately after the work, your accommodation, transportation and feeding will be free cause we will make provision for it

. The payment will be mailed out to you as soon as you send your Full Name and Contact Address in this format below:
Name to be written on check :
Complete Mailing address,
city, state,
zip code :
Cell/Phone number :
your bank name:
As i told you earlier there is a company financing this whole project they will be taking care of your payment as well as the studio's Payment and location of our studio to be used near you, the payment would be mailed directly to you alongside the Studio Booking fee. Immediately you have it,you will take out your $300 and send the remaining to the Studio Manager so that
the studio can be secure. Then you will be paid the balance of immediately after the shooting, I hope i am able to make things clear to you. Please I will like you to check your email on a regular basis, i might have updates for you.
Thanks and God bless,

seandavies50@yahoo. com
www. uniquemagazines. co. uk
+447024095

---------------------------
Dan

http://www.rdrphotography.com
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.
  (#2) Old
Light Moderator
 
srwatters's Avatar
 
Posts: 11,942
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: West Plano, Texas
Real First Name: Scott
Camera: Nikon D3 & Hasselblad H2
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 16

Likes Received LIKES Received: 47
Likes Given LIKES Given: 10
03-21-2008, 01:47 PM


yup. Report and delete!

---------------------------
Scott Watters
PoloDigital | Flickr | Pbase
Nikon | Hasselblad | Phase One | Hensel | Apple
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Supa Dupa Poster
 
kenw's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,674
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cypress, Texas
Real First Name: Ken
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 2

Likes Received LIKES Received: 98
Likes Given LIKES Given: 83
03-21-2008, 01:55 PM


Man....must be a dearth of photographers in the UK.....

---------------------------
5th Generation Texian.
(line 2) Watch this, Spot!
(line 3) Have I shown you my photos of my grandson? Wait, don't run! Hey!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
myspace, scam, smell, thinks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Visit Our Sponsors
 

Google Sponsors

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.

Copyright ©2004 - 2011, Abel Longoria - www.Pixtus.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.