Follow us on Twitter!
Follow us on Facebook!
 

Go Back   Pixtus - Photography Forum, Photographers, Photo Tips > General Information > Open Talk


Is This a SCAM

This is a discussion on Is This a SCAM within the Open Talk forums, part of the General Information category; I have a company wanting to put one of my pictures in a book ? I need to know if ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Premium Member
 
Chief's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,007
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: L.O.E., New Mexico
Real First Name: Gordon
Camera: canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 21
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
Is This a SCAM - 06-24-2008, 01:46 PM


I have a company wanting to put one of my pictures in a book ?
I need to know if they are legitimate and I'm also curious how they got my picture ?
here's their web site
[url]http://www.photolaureates.org/

Gordon

---------------------------
KE5ILI
HAPPY TRAILS TO YOU, UNTIL WE MEET AGAIN !
WHOAA NELLI BELL !!!!

Last edited by Chief; 06-24-2008 at 01:54 PM..
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.
  (#2) Old
Forum Regular
 
sldi's Avatar
 
Posts: 631
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Real First Name: John
Camera: Canon 5dMKII
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 2
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
06-24-2008, 01:50 PM


I got an error when I tried the link, but I am on a crappy connection up here in VA today. Did they want any money? Do you retain rights to the photo? those are some questions to ask. If they want money and retain all rights to the photo, then run for the hills.
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Supa Dupa Poster
 
kenw's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,674
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cypress, Texas
Real First Name: Ken
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 2

Likes Received LIKES Received: 98
Likes Given LIKES Given: 83
06-24-2008, 01:53 PM


not a true scam in the technical sense, but a "vanity press" thing sort of scam.

They publish, and you get to buy a copy (or 10 or 20). Basically anyone who pays the $$ for a book gets their pic published. I have a friend who fell for this years ago, I never had the heart to explain it to him. It should have been obvious by the lack of overall quality of the pics (his were fairly good, but not great; some of the other "winners" were truly awful).

No one "in the business" looks at these books to find the next Ansel Adams, in spite of what they claim.

---------------------------
5th Generation Texian.
(line 2) Watch this, Spot!
(line 3) Have I shown you my photos of my grandson? Wait, don't run! Hey!
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Luminous Cat Herder
 
Ahh!'s Avatar
 
Posts: 4,857
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Frisco, Texas
Real First Name: Peter
Camera: Nikon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 2

Likes Received LIKES Received: 29
Likes Given LIKES Given: 23
06-24-2008, 01:56 PM


Interesting to google them up...

http://www.andhranews.net/intl/2006/...s-Released.asp

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/re...ssage=27962319

---------------------------
Putting the Ahh! in Photography.
A 35 to my eye and a 45 by my side.
What say you?
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
Premium Member
 
Chief's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,007
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: L.O.E., New Mexico
Real First Name: Gordon
Camera: canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 21
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
06-24-2008, 02:00 PM


Thanks Ken

Thats What I expected to hear.
Now how can they use my picture if I never entered their contest ??? I did notice viewed this picture on my smugmug site and left a nice comment about it. I thought that was odd !!!! Since the picture is nearly 4 years old.

I'm not gonna worry about it much.

---------------------------
KE5ILI
HAPPY TRAILS TO YOU, UNTIL WE MEET AGAIN !
WHOAA NELLI BELL !!!!
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Forum Master
 
PhotosbyHollyWood's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,460
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: La Porte,
Real First Name: Holly
Camera: Olympus E-500
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to PhotosbyHollyWood
06-24-2008, 02:12 PM


it appears to be just like picture.com


same thing... ALMOST every gets selected... they MAIL you to death about the book and to buy it.. buy it now get a % off

then they email and mail you to death for an award ceremony, and pay X amount to have your photo displayed in the gallery...


legitimate.. kinda sorta.. but more of a way to PRY money out of peoples hand!!!

---------------------------
My Flickr

yeah so I shoot with an Olympus.. E-500 to be exact!

There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs. ~Ansel Adams

Last edited by PhotosbyHollyWood; 06-24-2008 at 02:12 PM.. Reason: Spell check
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
Forum Regular
 
123canon's Avatar
 
Posts: 559
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: andice, Texas
Real First Name: michael
Camera: canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
06-24-2008, 03:34 PM


they "accepted" one of my photos one time then tried to sell me the book, imagine that! i thought about submitting a really nice portrait of a ducks butt to see if it would make it also...
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
Forum Master
 
Duffy Pratt's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,289
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Missouri City,
Real First Name: Duffy
Camera: Canon 20D
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
06-24-2008, 03:37 PM


Yup, it's just like a bunch of the "Who's who" publications. If you are willing to shell out for the book, then you are important enough to be included.
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
Forum Master
 
PhotosbyHollyWood's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,460
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: La Porte,
Real First Name: Holly
Camera: Olympus E-500
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to PhotosbyHollyWood
06-24-2008, 04:30 PM


hahah SAD to say I have 2 images in one of the books.... I just never bought the book!!!

however I am curious to see the book and see if my photos are in it.. of course this was 5 years ago or so!!!

---------------------------
My Flickr

yeah so I shoot with an Olympus.. E-500 to be exact!

There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs. ~Ansel Adams
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
scam

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Visit Our Sponsors
 

Google Sponsors

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.

Copyright ©2004 - 2011, Abel Longoria - www.Pixtus.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.