Follow us on Twitter!
Follow us on Facebook!
 

Go Back   Pixtus - Photography Forum, Photographers, Photo Tips > General Information > Open Talk


Suspicious Email

This is a discussion on Suspicious Email within the Open Talk forums, part of the General Information category; Hello Everyone! I just received this suspicious email and was wondering if anyone else got the same one, or if ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Forum Regular
 
mccls1030's Avatar
 
Posts: 591
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spring, Texas
Real First Name: Sharon
Camera: Nikon D700
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
Cool Suspicious Email - 10-19-2008, 07:05 PM


Hello Everyone!

I just received this suspicious email and was wondering if anyone else got the same one, or if anyone knows if it is spam, to be avoided, or the real thing. I am not responding, but I thought I'd post it if anyone wants to offer comments.

Here is the text of the email:

Quote:
Dear Sir


I have a group of people coming to your town for a tour and i want you to
cover this tour based on your expertise in the feild of photography. They
are 10 in number and the period of work is 3hrs every day on their outings,
they will also take you in their vehicle so all i need is for you to confirm
the availability of you to cover this event for 10days.

Date of tour : Nov 20-30th, 2008
Number of Persons: 10

Kindly get back to me with the availability and i will send you my credit
card for an upfront deposit, note you will print all the photos and you
balance will be paid after checking at the end of the tour

Regards
Rev Mendez George
Email: infochristapostle@yahoo.gr

---------------------------
www.sharonmcclungphotography.com
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.
  (#2) Old
Rest in peace John...
 
johnastovall's Avatar
 
Posts: 10,238
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Dublin, TX,
Real First Name: Stovall
Camera: Leica M8/Leica X1/Canon 1DsMkIII/Canon 5DMkII/Leica M7/Leicaflex SL2/Ricoh GR-DIII
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 17

Likes Received LIKES Received: 1
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
10-19-2008, 07:13 PM


Variation on a know scam.

http://www.blueplanetphoto.com/wordpress/?p=385

---------------------------
"The market wants a Leica to be a Leica: the inheritor of tradition, the subject of lore, and indisputably a mark of status to own."
Mike Johnston
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Forum Master
 
Jenny Z's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,146
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Garland, Texas
Real First Name: Jennifer
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 1

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 4
Send a message via AIM to Jenny Z
10-19-2008, 08:47 PM


I didn't get that particular email, but I've seen it posted on other forums. Definitely a scam.
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Uber Poster
 
guitarbug's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,436
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: N. Richland Hills, TX,
Real First Name: Chris
Camera: D300
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 10

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
10-19-2008, 08:49 PM


Got the same one, what a freaking joke! Must be related to someone in the UK, lol..

---------------------------
Shoes Off! Free your feet and you're mind will follow!
www.christophersphotos.com
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
Senior Member
 
sandy_ruotolo's Avatar
 
Posts: 275
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Philadelphia PA,
Real First Name: Sandra
Camera: Olympus E510
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
10-19-2008, 09:20 PM


Since I'm not a pro I didn't get it. Did you try typing in the company address as a search? See if they have a website, but I would be very cautious in replying to it. If something comes across my e-mail, and I don't recogonize the sender, I'm suspicous of it.
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Forum Regular
 
alamoshutterbug's Avatar
 
Posts: 793
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Austin, Texas
Real First Name: Eric
Camera: Canon 5D and 5DII
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
10-19-2008, 09:50 PM


Got one too

---------------------------
www.erickotaraphotography.com
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
Forum Regular
 
kula23's Avatar
 
Posts: 827
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Real First Name: Kelly
Camera: Nikon N75, Canon 50d
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 1

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
10-20-2008, 01:41 AM


It is fake.......you need to watch out the name, email address, phone number. So like I said it's fake, scam. Ignore it.

---------------------------
I am hearing impaired......I know I am not perfect but I am ABLE!
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
You Can't Be Serious!!
 
toverman's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,770
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Real First Name: Todd
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 8

Likes Received LIKES Received: 4
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
10-20-2008, 09:50 AM


I definitely wouldn't put myself or my camera gear in a stranger's vehicle, scam or no scam.

---------------------------
www.toddovermanphoto.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
email, suspicious

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Visit Our Sponsors
 

Google Sponsors

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.

Copyright ©2004 - 2011, Abel Longoria - www.Pixtus.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.