Follow us on Twitter!
Follow us on Facebook!
 

Go Back   Pixtus - Photography Forum, Photographers, Photo Tips > General Information > Site Info


Online Store Scam Section

This is a discussion on Online Store Scam Section within the Site Info forums, part of the General Information category; Hi I'm fairly new to the board, and I'm always looking for good deals on equipment. Luckly, I haven't dealt ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Junior Member
 
dailydrifter's Avatar
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Real First Name: Alex
Camera: Nikon D300
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
Online Store Scam Section - 03-11-2009, 12:17 PM


Hi I'm fairly new to the board, and I'm always looking for good deals on equipment. Luckly, I haven't dealt with those online scam stores, but I got a hell of a deal with super quick delivery from an online store called California something...

As I look into purchasing new gear, i've been reading some reveiws and found that some sites post a ton of false reviews. So I was wondering if there's a section for real photographers to post how they rated a company they dealt with?

Maybe like a revew section vs. just a scam section?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.
  (#2) Old
Forum Regular
 
kenmyers70's Avatar
 
Posts: 564
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Murphy, Texas
Real First Name: Ken
Camera: Canon 50D
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
03-11-2009, 12:25 PM


I think your best bet is:
http://www.resellerratings.com/

People around here tend to stick to B&H and KEH.

If its too good to be true, it probably is.

---------------------------
K. D. Myers Photography

Amateur: Work to earn money to buy photography equipment
Pro: Buy photography equipment to earn money at work
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Junior Member
 
dailydrifter's Avatar
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Real First Name: Alex
Camera: Nikon D300
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
03-11-2009, 12:51 PM


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmyers70 View Post
I think your best bet is:
http://www.resellerratings.com/

People around here tend to stick to B&H and KEH.

If its too good to be true, it probably is.

Yea I agree, I've ordered from BH, beach, buydig with good sucess but this california store beat all three with price and delivery. Literally next day delivery and all I paid was for a 2 day shipping from Calli to houston. So there's def other stores online that do a great job but those NY scammers scare us from ordering anything from other sites.

Links to real reviews, and sites like the one posted in a thread on this forum (http://donwiss.com/pictures/BrooklynStores/) are great resources.

My friend at work was looking into buying some gear and she shot over the link. Turns out they're on Don's site. so I told her to stay clear. So that got me looking online for reviews and thought it would come in handy having a section to see what real photographers say, or links they've found on a store.

Just a suggestion, I don't know what kind of can of worms this might create but it's something to think about. just my .02
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Forum Master
 
SpeedRacerSlots's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,036
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cypress, TX, Texas
Real First Name: Greg
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 6

Likes Received LIKES Received: 9
Likes Given LIKES Given: 19
03-11-2009, 01:18 PM


on a person's blog might be the only place you could get away with that.
on a site like this, my brain tells me that abel would steer clear of that for libel purposes.

Want a good example, check this: read the article paying attention to the 4/5th paragraphs from the bottom.
http://www.accessmylibrary.com/coms2...86-7205162_ITM

---------------------------
Greg
Canon bodies with Canon L and Tamron glass.
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
Junior Member
 
dailydrifter's Avatar
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Real First Name: Alex
Camera: Nikon D300
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 0

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
03-11-2009, 11:05 PM


Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedRacerSlots View Post
on a person's blog might be the only place you could get away with that.
on a site like this, my brain tells me that abel would steer clear of that for libel purposes.

Want a good example, check this: read the article paying attention to the 4/5th paragraphs from the bottom.
http://www.accessmylibrary.com/coms2...86-7205162_ITM
That's crazy! But that's the world we live in. We have the right to speak our minds freely on the net but, it seems we have the right to get sued too. lol

Don't send that link to DONWISS.com he's doing us a great favor.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
online, scam, section, store

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Visit Our Sponsors
 

Google Sponsors

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.

Copyright ©2004 - 2011, Abel Longoria - www.Pixtus.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.