Follow us on Twitter!
Follow us on Facebook!
 

Go Back   Pixtus - Photography Forum, Photographers, Photo Tips > Business Discussion > Website Talk


New Phishing Attack For Model Mayhem Members

This is a discussion on New Phishing Attack For Model Mayhem Members within the Website Talk forums, part of the Business Discussion category; Be careful. There is a new phishing attack method for Model Mayhem members. This morning I got an email with ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
ASDFJKL;
 
LWimages's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,557
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: 60660, Illinois
Real First Name: Louis
Camera: Nikon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 15

Likes Received LIKES Received: 7
Likes Given LIKES Given: 24
New Phishing Attack For Model Mayhem Members - 06-27-2010, 10:26 AM


Be careful. There is a new phishing attack method for Model Mayhem members.

This morning I got an email with following content

Quote:
From: Jaime Morente <jaimemorente9@gmail.com>
Date: June 27, 2010 9:27:42 AM CDT
To: jaimemorente9@gmail.com
Subject: MM

Not sure if this is you. Or if someone is using your images.

modelmaynam.com/mm.cfm?profile=776546

Jaime
When you click on the link, it looks like a Model Mayhem login page. I entered a bogus login information and of course it denied my login and took me back to the correct Model Mayhem page.

It's not like they even tried to mask the URL. I clicked on the link just because I wanted to know what that site was all about.

---------------------------
"Sometimes I feel the universe is just trying to see how much I can stretch before I catapult into greatness"
http://blog.lwimages.com

Last edited by srwatters; 06-28-2010 at 07:55 AM.. Reason: restored link text, but removed actual hotlink
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.
  (#2) Old
Da Juan and Only Moderator
 
KenJulio's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,649
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Houston, Texas
Real First Name: Ken
Camera: Nikon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 29

Likes Received LIKES Received: 193
Likes Given LIKES Given: 250
06-27-2010, 02:24 PM


Louis - just out of curiousity, wouldnt it be safe to not have an active link to a phishing site?

The domain has a slightly different name, which is modelmayNam instead of the obvious, modelmayHem

---------------------------
Support Pixtus by Purchasing Your Gear from: B&H Photo, Amazon, or Adorama
Our Forum Rules | Report posts that break the Site Rules
Dark Sky Finder Thread
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Forum Master
 
Some Idiot's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,488
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Real First Name: Rob
Camera: Canon 5DMKII, Canon 7D, Canon A620, KS 500
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 6

Likes Received LIKES Received: 15
Likes Given LIKES Given: 63
06-27-2010, 02:30 PM


Wow..... I surprised you posted a hot link though

---------------------------
5DMKII | 7D | 40D IR
70-200 f/2.8 IS L | 135 f/2.0 L | 24-105 f/4.0 IS L | 100 f/2.8 IS Macro L | 35 f/1.4 L | 15mm f/2.8 Fisheye
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Senior Member
 
rockin-photos's Avatar
 
Posts: 329
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Huffman, Texas
Real First Name: Jerry
Camera: Canon
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 1

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
06-28-2010, 01:06 PM


I got that same email this morning. I informed the moderators at MM, and hopefully they can do something about it. At least make other users aware of it.

Thanks for the heads up Louis.

---------------------------
Rockin-Photos
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
Uber Poster
 
S-Man's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,789
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Houston, Texas
Real First Name: Sam
Camera: Canon 5D, 40D
Can Others Edit My Photos: Yes
iTrader Rating: 11

Likes Received LIKES Received: 7
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
06-28-2010, 01:29 PM


I just got this email this morning also. I didn't click on it as I don't have a MM account, but I also noticed the link said "modelMAYNAM.com".

---------------------------
Sam
Houston Wedding Photographer
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
Uber Poster
 
photonewb's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,846
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Real First Name: Richard
Camera: Nikon D300
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 2

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 2
06-29-2010, 07:27 AM


Got the email too.
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
Premium Member
 
Wil_Bloodworth's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,934
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Frisco, Texas
Real First Name: Wil
Camera: Nikon
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 10

Likes Received LIKES Received: 9
Likes Given LIKES Given: 0
06-29-2010, 12:13 PM


Yeah, I got one of these too.

- Wil

---------------------------
Portrait Site: www.ParkImaging.com
Commercial Site: www.DallasCommercialPhoto.com
flickr
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
Premium Member
 
ThePhotoBinder's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,200
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sugar Land, Texas
Real First Name: Marc
Camera: Nikon D300
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 2

Likes Received LIKES Received: 3
Likes Given LIKES Given: 1
07-03-2010, 10:30 PM


So did it come to your reg. email or was it on MM.

---------------------------
Marc Binder - Blog
The Photo Binder Photography Workshops
OneTalentsSource E-Magazine
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
Uber Poster
 
photonewb's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,846
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Real First Name: Richard
Camera: Nikon D300
Can Others Edit My Photos: No
iTrader Rating: 2

Likes Received LIKES Received: 0
Likes Given LIKES Given: 2
07-06-2010, 06:48 AM


Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePhotoBinder View Post
So did it come to your reg. email or was it on MM.
for me it came into my regular mail, which is weird because it's not even the same email address that I use for MM. So it's not that they're getting emails from MM, but just seems to be hitting up emails that perhaps are listed on photography websites or something.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
attack, mayhem, members, model, phishing

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Visit Our Sponsors
 

Google Sponsors

Premium Members do not see Google advertisements. SIGN UP today and help support our community.

Copyright ©2004 - 2011, Abel Longoria - www.Pixtus.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.